Damage Type (Cantrip plus Sneak Attack) *PLUS* Sneak Attack Question


Rules Questions


If a character possessing Sneak Attack used a Cantrip (requiring a ranged touch attack such as Ray Of Frost) and dealt damage (the target recieved no saving throw and had no Spell Resistance), would the additional Sneak Attack damage be of the same type? (eg, in this case 'Cold' damage)

If a character using a shortsword damaged foe with Damage Reduction that negated the base attacks damage to 0, then does Sneak Attack take place or not?
I cant seem to find a definitive ruling on RAW for this, and I am curious.

The players in my group feel if the base attack dealt no damage then no sneak attack took place based on this theory that if someone had Resistance 5 (Cold), they cant be Sneak Attacked by a Ray Of Frost unless the base attack dealt a Critical Hit and rolled maximum damage (D3 x 2, rolling 3 would net 6 damage - 5 resistance = 1 plus Sneak Attack (possibly?))


Same type as the spell.

The sneak attack damage is a part of the total damage, it is not separate. If you stab something with DR 5, and you roll 4 damage on your dagger and non-sneak attack bonuses, and do 7 points of sneak attack damage, your total damage before DR is 11 points, so you'd do 6.


Jason Bulmahn on question #2: "The sneak attack damage is not a special effect that accompanies the attack, it is part of the damage roll."


Ah I see, so Sneak Attack is applied before Damage Reduction AND Resistance. Thats basicially the clarification I was after.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Damage Type (Cantrip plus Sneak Attack) *PLUS* Sneak Attack Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions