Spells tied to Hallow and saves


Rules Questions


If you save from a spell that's tied to a Hallow effect for a year, does that save "stick" for the whole year? Can you then return to the Hallow a couple weeks later and not have to suffer the effect?

Grand Lodge

I couldn't find anything in the RAW for the Hallow spell specifically that states the answer but I would personally rule it to be the same as a Magic Circle Against [Evil], forcing a new save each time you move out of the area of the spell and back into it again.


A very (very) literal reading of the spell would indicate that leaving the area of the hallow is the same as leaving the area of the spell. It is, however, the same spell you're leaving and reentering the area of, however. This means that the effect (or lack of one), is dependent upon the spell in question. If you leave the Aid effect and come back, you still get all the bonuses [that you have left, at least]. If you leave the Zone of Truth then reenter, you don't have to save again (as specifically stated in the spell's description). Each spell would function based upon its own text, since it's the SAME spell you're being affected by each time.

Which spell, in particular, were you wondering about?


Zone of Truth and Discern Lies, specifically, but also looking for a general answer. Seems very unintuitive to me that you could save from a Hallow bounded spell, then come back in six months and that same save still apply. But that's intuition, not rule, so I'm curious about the rule.


Zone of Truth I covered. Discern Lies is a little more tricky. The spell doesn't explicitly say that the same creature can't be affected twice, but it's implied by the "one creature per level" target line. That one's harder to interpret, but I'm inclined to say it would work similarly, RAW.

I would definitely say it wouldn't be terrible for you, as the DM, to houserule it to however you prefer. A logical ruling might be that making the save makes you immune for the duration of the normal spell (1 round per level for Discern Lies), at which point you can again be affected.

Hope that helps.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So you think Discern Lies only works on one creature per level per year?. That's quite an expensive tag on to a hallow spell.


No, I think that Hallow ties a single spell to it. It then extends the duration of that spell to last for a full year. Just because the spell lasts a hundred times longer than normal doesn't mean the spell is being cast 100 times. It's still the same spell.

That's how I would interpret the text. You're more than welcome to ignore my interpretation and seek out someone else's if you'd prefer. :)

And, as I said, it would be an easy fix to houserule it. And certainly not overpowered.


Who gets the benefit of the Discern Lies? Anyone who walks in?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spells tied to Hallow and saves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions