
KaptainKrunch |

Work?
Shoelessinsight and I were on the phone talking about Dazing spell, and he made the comment "Well it's a good thing it doesn't work with Summon Monster."
And then we paused and I said "Wait, it doesn't?"
So he looks up the spell and reads the verbatim and makes the argument "Well it says 'when a spell deals damage' so since it's a monster it's more like if a fireball collapsed a ceiling and rocks fell on people, it's not your spell at that point but a result of your spell."
And I'm like "Well, actually, it's a summoned monster as opposed to a called monster, so it actually behaves like a spell in many ways, so you might say it's a spell."
Then we started talking about how powerful it would be if you interpreted it that way - Summon Monster IX with a Dazing Spell rod would be dazing things for 9 rounds turn after turn with their SLAs and so forth.
I personally as a DM would rule it doesn't work with Summon Monster, but do you think it would work with RAW?

KaptainKrunch |

I agree with your friend. The spell itself isn't doing the damage.
Would you let summoned monsters ignore enemies' DR? Because damage from spells is not subject to DR.
The whole line of reasoning is just silly and broken.
I can think of two spells, Diamond Spray and Pellet Blast, that are subject to DR because of the type of damage they deal. I would say those spells both work with Dazing spell.
I like argument "The spell summons a monster, not deal damage" though.
Of course, with that in mind, you might say that Snapdragon Fireworks creates a firework, not deal damage.