Poisoned Sand Tube Question


Rules Questions


I read in Ultimate Combat that the poisoned sand tube hits all targets in a 15' cone. If the tube automatically hits all its targets in the area, and the effect is a saving throw, why is the item considered a weapon?

Additionally, what could prevent a character from using the item if they are not proficient with martial weapons, and what would the penalty be for not being proficient in the use of the poisoned sand tube?

Edit: Spelling and formatting.

Grand Lodge

Good questions, I'll add one: Can you use this for attacks of opportunity?


it also means that with quick draw, you can have iterative poison sand tubes

Liberty's Edge

there is nothing preventing someone from using martial weapons when non-proficient, you just take a -4 to hit. Since the poisoned sand tube doesn't use attack rolls, it's -4 to nothing.

They are a ranged weapons, which generally cannot be used for AoOs, and they themselves do provoke.


So, since they follow the rules for using an alchemical item in melee, do not use attack rolls, and cannot be used for attacks of opportunity, why are they listed under weapons?


OH that was me I figured we didn't have enough small things to complain about on the internet so I had my buddy at Paizo slip this little doozey in just so some person could find it and complain about ****SURPRISE***


Lobolusk wrote:
OH that was me I figured we didn't have enough small things to complain about on the internet so I had my buddy at Paizo slip this little doozey in just so some person could find it and complain about ****SURPRISE***

*shakes a snout* Curse you, Lobolusk!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Poisoned Sand Tube Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions