Confirming on a natural one.


Rules Questions


Is it possible?

I know that whenever you roll a 20 an on attack roll, it is an automatic hit and threatens.

I also know that whenever you roll a 1 on an attack roll it is an automatic fail.

So, what happens when you have a monster who rolls a natural 20 to hit, and then rolls a 1 to confirm, but the total bonus is still enough to hit.

For example, A Will o wisp has +16 to hit. It has touch attacks. It rolls a 20 for a +36 to hit, and threatens. It rolls a 1 to confirm, for a +17 to beat touch AC. Does that confirm the critical or would that not confirm due to the 1 being a 1.


Because the critical confirmation is a second attack roll, the 1 would auto-miss and it would not confirm.

"Critical Hits: When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your target's Armor Class, and you have scored a “threat,” meaning the hit might be a critical hit (or “crit”). To find out if it's a critical hit, you immediately make an attempt to “confirm” the critical hit—another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. If the confirmation roll also results in a hit against the target's AC, your original hit is a critical hit. (The critical roll just needs to hit to give you a crit, it doesn't need to come up 20 again.) If the confirmation roll is a miss, then your hit is just a regular hit."


It fails to confirm.

"To find out if it’s a critical hit, you immediately make an attempt to “confirm” the critical hit—another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. (PFRPG 184)"

"A natural 1 (the d20 comes up 1) on an attack roll is always a miss. (PFRPG 178)"


Thanks :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Confirming on a natural one. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions