Hexcrafter feats


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can a Hexcrafter Magus take the Extra Hex feat at first level?


By wording, no. The extra hex feat requires the Hex class feature, which the Hexcrafter never gains access to. Instead they get the "Hex Arcana" class feature at 4th level. So a single classed Hexcrafter will never gain access to the extra hex feat.


Nope. He can't get it at 1st level because he does not get Hex feature until fourth level.

Also, his ability is not named Hex but Hex Magus so strictly speaking he does not fulfill requirements of Extra Hex feat unless he gains GM permission (personally I would allow taking Extra HEx feat by Magus after 4th level) - but he can't in PFS legal builds until errated otherwise (or unless already errated/FAQed to be legal)

Grand Lodge

They do hex class feature, but I could see it going both ways.

Liberty's Edge

Just because you don't like the rules doesn't mean it could go either way.

As Inconvenience pointed out: they do not, ever, gain the hex class feature. Ergo, they will never meet the requirements for extra hex. Instead they gain "Hex Magus". After level 4 they can take extra arcana to gain hexes, thanks to the Hex Arcana class feature.

Grand Lodge

If that is true, then could a PC with 2 levels in Witch, and 4 levels in Hexcrafter take the same hex twice, as there are two separate things?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

They should have just called the 4th level ability, "Hex."

*sigh*

You can never take Extra Hex. HOWEVER, since you can take a hex as an arcana, you can just take Extra Arcana for basically the same effect.

You could not do this until after 4th level, though.

Grand Lodge

If you take the Extra Arcana for an additional Hex, can it be the same Hex that you gained from levels in witch? Would they stack?

Scarab Sages

blackbloodtroll wrote:
If you take the Extra Arcana for an additional Hex, can it be the same Hex that you gained from levels in witch? Would they stack?

I'm going to say no to this one.

First, since the hexes can only be used once per round normally, it wouldn't do any good to have access to more than one ability that does the same thing.

Second, since bonuses and penalties of the same type don't stack, it wouldn't do any good to inflict them on a target twice.

Third, there is a case to be made for some of the hexes, like Disguise, Flight and Healing, that they would be useful to have more than once. You could extend the duration or perform multiple healings, for example.

However, the Hex class feature reads: "A witch cannot select an individual hex more than once."

Under the Magus' Hex Magus class feature it reads: "He gains the benefit of or uses that hex as if he were a witch of a level equal to his magus level." If the Magus uses the Hex Magus as a Witch, then the prohibition of selecting the same hex twice would be in effect.

Also, under the Hex Arcana class feature it reads: "He cannot select any hex or arcana more than once." So it clearly applies at 12th level and higher. The case for choosing the same hex twice at lower levels could be presented to the GM, but I'm thinking the answer should be no.


Most reasons to want the same hex twice seem like they'd be resolved just as easily by just taking the Accursed Hex feat to re-try if the target makes his save...

Grand Lodge

Like one could take the Nails hex twice, and gain attacks with their feet. There are various other examples.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hexcrafter feats All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.