| Vinja89 |
im sorry if this has been asked before but i couldnt find it after a search, im just wondering what happens when a charging enemy is hit with pushing assault? does he stop his charge 10 feet or 15 feet away (depending on whether using a reach weapon or not)?, does he get pushed back to that distance and can continue his charge with remaining movement? if so does he provoke again if you say have the combat reflexes feat?
thanks in advance, again i apologize if it indeed has been asked before.
| SlimGauge |
Pushing assault is not voluntary movement by the charger. Each time the charger (voluntarily) moves, is he meeting the requirements of charge movement ? That is, does he move in a straight line from his present square towards the nearest square that he can attack from ?
Remember, the way movement works is square by square. Let's say I have 6 squares of movemement. I move one square. Has anything prevented me from moving further ? (tripped by an AoO, fallen into a pit, knocked unconscious by a trap, etc. ?) If not, and I have squares of movement left, move another square.
As to provoking, the rule states that you can only provoke once for movement (leaving a threatened square).
| Vinja89 |
hmmm so ok if i have a longspear, i ready it against a charge with the brace feature, an orc charges me, i use pushing assault and hit, what square does he end up in? (this feat somewhat confuses me with this scenario)
edit: also sorry this only applies to a reach weapon, im not sure why i wrote the length for using a standard weapon also. i was always under the impression a charging enemy would provoke a reach weapon user as he leaves the 10' square entering the 5' one?
| SlimGauge |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
WARNING: Bad ASCII art
O = Orc
t = square 10 feet away
f = square 5 feet away (adjacent)
P = player
_._._._._.
x.O.t.f.P.
_._._._._.
Conditions: Player has longspear readied against a charge.
Orc declares charge against Player. Orc is now limited to moving in a straight line directly to the nearest square he can attack Player from.
Orc moves to square t. The square the Orc started in is not threatened by the Player, so there is no provocation for leaving it (moving). What does happen is the Player's readied action is triggered, interrupting the Orc in the middle of movement to contact (charge).
The player elects to use Power Attack and Pushing Assault. If the Player misses this readied attack, Pushing Assault doesn't trigger, but Power Attack has been activated and remains active until the player's next turn.
CASE 1: Player crits (critical threat and confirms) with readied attack. Target Orc takes 4x damage, because a longspear is a 3x weapon and the multiplier is increased by 1 (doubled) for being set against the charge, not 6x damage, because of how crit multipiers stack, but no Power Attack damage. By giving up the extra damage from Power Attack to use Pushing Assault, the player pushes the Orc through the Orc's original square into square x. Even though square t is threatened, because Pushing Assault says being pushed does not provoke, there is no AoO for leaving t.
Orc continues his interrupted movement to contact (charge) by moving into his starting square and continuing as CASE 2 below.
CASE 2: Player hits with readied attack. Target Orc takes 2x damage, but no Power Attack damage. By giving up the extra damage from Power Attack to use Pushing Assault, the player pushes the Orc into the Orc's original square O. Even though square t is threatened, because Pushing Assault says being pushed does not provoke, there is no AoO for leaving t.
Orc continues his interrupted movement to contact (charge) by moving from his starting square into square t. As before, square O is not threated, so there is no provoking for leaving a threatened square. The readied action has already been triggered. The Orc continues movement to contact (charge) as CASE 3 below.
CASE 3: Player misses with readied attack. The Orc, in square t, attempts to continue movement to contact (charge) by moving from square t to square f. Square t is threatened by the longspear, so the Orc provokes an AoO for leaving a threatened square. If the Player can take this AoO, he MUST continue to use Power Attack. Let's say he uses Pushing Assault again.
This AoO takes place in the square the Orc is LEAVING. If Player hits the Orc he pushes it back from t to O (or even back to x on a crit). The Orc continues to try to move to contact per the charge rules. However, the second time the Orc attempts to move from t to f does not provoke for movement because "Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn’t count as more
than one opportunity for that opponent." (page 180)