Ring of Spell storing and Meta Magic Rods


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

If a spellcaster owns one of these, and puts his own spells into it, do they power down to the minumum level to be cast? A 10th level wizard puts a lightning bolt spell in there, its effectively only 5th level?

Also, regarding meta magic rods. Say you carry a few of these - could you use more than one when casting a spell? It also looks like there is no activation for having these. Just having it is all you need?

Scarab Sages

I almost forgot - could you use a MMR on a spell from a stored spell?


Indivar wrote:
If a spellcaster owns one of these, and puts his own spells into it, do they power down to the minumum level to be cast? A 10th level wizard puts a lightning bolt spell in there, its effectively only 5th level?

I . . . don't think so? I can't think of a reason that it would, anyway.

Quote:
Also, regarding meta magic rods. Say you carry a few of these - could you use more than one when casting a spell? It also looks like there is no activation for having these. Just having it is all you need?
PRD wrote:
All the rods described here are use-activated (but casting spells in a threatened area still draws an attack of opportunity). A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder. In this case, only the feats possessed by the wielder adjust the spell slot of the spell being cast.

One rod per spell, use-activated. I'd wager that GMs would rule that "use-activated" in this case would mean you have to brandish it, swish-and-flick, point, or at least hold the thing in one hand. Notice that there is no "Metamagic, Still" rod.


Indivar wrote:

If a spellcaster owns one of these, and puts his own spells into it, do they power down to the minumum level to be cast? A 10th level wizard puts a lightning bolt spell in there, its effectively only 5th level?

Also, regarding meta magic rods. Say you carry a few of these - could you use more than one when casting a spell? It also looks like there is no activation for having these. Just having it is all you need?

The rings store the spell put into them as the caster puts them in. They resolve with the appropriate power as the caster was when they put them in the ring. No they do not drop in power.

Quote:
Activation: Details relating to rod use vary from item to item. Unless noted otherwise, you must be holding a rod to use its abilities. See the individual descriptions for specifics.

I don't think you can use a MMRod on a stored spell unless you put the metamagiced spell into the storage device already MM'd. Activating a magic items is not the same as casting a spell so I would not think that you could use a Metamagic rod on the spell as it is being released from the items.


I admit the bit under ring of spell storing that mentions that "stored spells have a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell" may contradict my earlier statement. I took it to mean that when you found such a ring, any spells within it had that property (like most found potions/scrolls/whatever).


First, "Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat. A spellcaster can use a scroll to put a spell into the minor ring of spell storing."

So yes, you can metamagic spells into it. They take up the appropriate modified level.

When you activate the ring, you aren't casting a spell, so you couldn't add any metamagic to it upon activation.

Lastly, the CL of the spell does drop to whatever the minimum is. If you are a level 20 wizard, and cast a magic missile into a spell storing ring, it would drop to CL 1.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ring of Spell storing and Meta Magic Rods All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions