Adjudicating the use of the Mislead Spell


Rules Questions


Hey all,
The sorceror in the party I DM for has recently started using Mislead which is a tremendous defensive boon for her. I want to make sure that I'm ruling its use correctly.

On the round she casts it (using a standard action) she can cause the illusion to appear anywhere within the spell's range simultaneous with her turning invisible (including over top of herself so that the switch is not noticed).

In that round she can also have the illusion move away from her (as she's already spending the standard action). She can also tell the illusion to pretend to cast spells.

If she wants to move the illusion again or tell it to pretend to do something else she needs to use another standard action for concentration. If she doesn't do this on the next round than the illusion only lasts for 3 more rounds.

So here are some of my questions.
1. She has to stop concentrating on the illusion to cast any other spell (even a quickened spell), right?
2. Can she change the illusions actions by spending another standard action after she has stopped concentrating?
3. If she is casting ray spells or the like can she make them appear to come from the illusion or do they give away her actual position?

Thanks for any help you guys can offer and if there's anything you've run into with this spell that I haven't mentioned here, but you think I should know, please feel free to share.


anyone?


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber
Finarin Panjoro wrote:
anyone?

1) She must stop before using another one. See rules for Magic under Duration (emphasis mine):

Quote:

Concentration: The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentration.

You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.

2) I would say no, after she's stopped concentrating on it.

Mislead Spell Description wrote:
After you cease concentration, the illusory double continues to carry out the same activity until the duration expires.

3) The actual illusion can't cast spells, so unless it's a spell that doesn't have an obvious point of origin, then no. Ray spells extend from the shooter. Were it something like a summon or conjuration which just materializes, then it's plausible that she can make it look like it came from another direction,

Silver Crusade

So I have to cast the spell in order to affect an escape?

Darn.

Usually starting to cast a spell triggers combat, so as my initiative is low, I'd be dead before the spell went off.

*goes to draw up plan B*


Try combining it with (or using instead) Project Image for offense, though it is one level higher.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Adjudicating the use of the Mislead Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.