How Exactly Does This Work? (Master Summoner + Superior Summoning)


Rules Questions


Hello everyone.

Ok, so I've seen in a few threads that the Master Summoner archetype can use the Superior Summoning feat at lv. 3.

I am sort of confused, isn't the Master Summoner's spell like ability only still summoning one of whatever creature per ability use? Thus, since they aren't summoning more than one with that one use of the spell like ability not eligible for the Superior Summoning feat's benefits?

Superior Summoning
You can summon more creatures.

Prerequisites: Augment Summoning, caster level 3rd.

Benefit: Each time you cast a summoning spell that conjures more than one creature, add one to the total number of creatures summoned.

I realize that you can get it, but isn't this only useful for summoning swarms since you are only summoning one creature per use of the spell like ability as a standard action?

Or does it work because you are summoning more than one of the same creature over multiple rounds?

Liberty's Edge

You can use summon monster II to summon multiple monsters from the summon monster I list.


If you elect to select the summoned creature from a lower level list than your maximum, then you get more than one creature. If you go for one step down it's 1d3 creatures. if you go for two (or more) steps down, it's 1d4+1 creatures. In either of these cases, Superior Summoning adds an added +1 to the number of creatures summoned.


Ok, that makes sense. Sorry I missed that everyone. Thanks for the quick replies.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How Exactly Does This Work? (Master Summoner + Superior Summoning) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions