| Will Pratt |
I'm creating a character that is going to be a main rough but I'll be dipping into quite a few classes so that I can fight well on the front lines with a little bit of tactics and I've run into a problem. my plan is to take a few lvs of barbarian and then take 1 lv of monk later on it says in the core that
"A barbarian who becmes lawful loses the ability to rage and cannot gain more levels as a barbarian. She retains all other benefits of the class."
so if I were to become lawful to take one level of monk(I want the saves and the feat) for one level and then after that going back to being non lawful would I get back the ability to rage?
so lets say I'm going to take my only lv of monk at lv 9.The way I'm reading it is that the level of monk I take I'll become LN and lose my ability to rage for level 9 and then at level 10 when I become take another level of a class lets say a level of rough I become CN that level would i regain my ability to rage and take levels of Barbarian if I wanted to?
this is all assuming of course that my GM is willing to let me make the alignment changes.
| Gruffling |
Skip the alignment hopping and take the martial artist archetype for monk. It allows non-lawful.
To the question, its my understanding that you would likely lose any benefits while "in" a non-allowed alignment. That's how I'd try to run it as a DM. Alignment as a essential roleplaying mechanic really shouldn't be hot-swapped depending on what mishmash of skills you're looking for, at least, IMO. Also, some people do away with the "lawful-chaotic" axis, or eliminate alignment entirely, depending their homebrew whims.
| Archaeik |
Then you are kinda screwed, as there is no way to restore lost barbarian powers. Without going out of core, you need a house rule to get you through it.
I will point out, that I think this option is a separate casting from changing your alignment per redemption/temptation <- which casting requires the caster to be the alignment you desire.
Also, I would apply the additional 2500 to the 'restore class' casting in this case.Question: would he be able to utilize rage powers while under the effects of a Rage spell?