Antilife shell prevents physical contact?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Can a dragon with 15-foot reach attack a creature under the effects of the antilife shell spell?

I'm trying to determine if the spell prevents ALL physical contact, or just movement.


I wouldn't think he could do so with an extremety. However, breath weapons, spells, and thrown boulders (and caved in ceilings) would all be fair game.

It'd be useless against dragons otherwise- and it specifically states it works against them.

Am sure someone will be along soon though to disagree :)

-S


Okay, let's take a look at the spell.

Antilife Shell
School: Abjuration
Level: Cleric 6, druid 6
Components: V, S, DF
Casting Time: 1 round
Range: 10 feet
Area: 10-ft.-radius emanation, centered on you
Duration: 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: Yes
Description: You bring into being a mobile, hemispherical field that prevents the entrance of most types of living creatures.
The effect hedges out animals, aberrations, dragons, fey, giants, humanoids, magical beasts, monstrous humanoids, oozes, plants, and vermin, but not constructs, elementals, outsiders, or undead.
This spell may be used only defensively, not aggressively. Forcing an abjuration barrier against creatures that the spell keeps at bay collapses the barrier.

My reading is that it blocks the dragon. The spell description uses the words 'hedges out', which are the same words used in the protection from various alignment spells and the like. So reach doesn't matter; it stop those listed critters dead. Unless they make a spell resistance check in which case they ignore the Antilife Shell. Or the caster tries to move closer to a critter, which drops the whole spell.

As a side note, the spell does not differentiate between hostiles and allies. Better hope your buddies are within 10-feet of you when you cast the spell, because otherwise they can't get in. And if you--the caster--get too close to your buddies, the whole spell drops.

Please note that this spell stops neither the dragon's spells nor his breath weapon; or his spell-like abilities. And it doesn't stop him from launching into flight, grabbing a 2-ton rock and bombing the caster from on high.

Master Arminas


master arminas wrote:

Okay, let's take a look at the spell.

Antilife Shell
School: Abjuration
Level: Cleric 6, druid 6
Components: V, S, DF
Casting Time: 1 round
Range: 10 feet
Area: 10-ft.-radius emanation, centered on you
Duration: 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: Yes
Description: You bring into being a mobile, hemispherical field that prevents the entrance of most types of living creatures.
The effect hedges out animals, aberrations, dragons, fey, giants, humanoids, magical beasts, monstrous humanoids, oozes, plants, and vermin, but not constructs, elementals, outsiders, or undead.
This spell may be used only defensively, not aggressively. Forcing an abjuration barrier against creatures that the spell keeps at bay collapses the barrier.

My reading is that it blocks the dragon. The spell description uses the words 'hedges out', which are the same words used in the protection from various alignment spells and the like. So reach doesn't matter; it stop those listed critters dead. Unless they make a spell resistance check in which case they ignore the Antilife Shell. Or the caster tries to move closer to a critter, which drops the whole spell.

As a side note, the spell does not differentiate between hostiles and allies. Better hope your buddies are within 10-feet of you when you cast the spell, because otherwise they can't get in. And if you--the caster--get too close to your buddies, the whole spell drops.

Please note that this spell stops neither the dragon's spells nor his breath weapon; or his spell-like abilities. And it doesn't stop him from launching into flight, grabbing a 2-ton rock and bombing the caster from on high.

Master Arminas

And if a dragon or shapechanging druid with 15' reach casts the spell?

Grand Lodge

I do have a question...the shell is hemispherical, so what happens if you are attacked and flanked? It wouldn't protect both sides because it is only a half of a sphere, right? Just making sure I am reading this right. Basically if you're going up against one BBEG it's great but against several spread out and all around you, it isn't as good. Anyone else reading it this way?


youtellatale wrote:
I do have a question...the shell is hemispherical, so what happens if you are attacked and flanked? It wouldn't protect both sides because it is only a half of a sphere, right? Just making sure I am reading this right. Basically if you're going up against one BBEG it's great but against several spread out and all around you, it isn't as good. Anyone else reading it this way?

Generally speaking, hemispherical means that the ground forms the line which bisects the sphere. In other words, there is a 'bubble' of protection surrounding your caster that terminates at ground level. There is no open side, except down.

Which make allow a burrowing creature to bypass the spell. Hadn't ever considered that.

MA


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Or if the caster is flying etc.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Antilife shell prevents physical contact? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.