Aqueous Orb and Incorporeal creatures


Rules Questions


Today I GM'd a game and one of the PC's cast Aqueous Orb on a Ghost.

Could the ghost leave the area and not be affected because the aqueous orb is a physical orb of water or is it still affected if it fail's it saving throw because its a magical sphere of water?

If you reply please provide the reference to back up your statement.

Thanks.


The rules for incorporeal creatures state:

Quote:
Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, it takes only half damage from a corporeal source (except for channel energy). Although it is not a magical attack, holy water can affect incorporeal undead. Corporeal spells and effects that do not cause damage only have a 50% chance of affecting an incorporeal creature.

Based on the above, I would say the ghost would take half damage, then have a 50% chance of being moved/engulfed by the orb.

Grand Lodge

"Incorporeal creatures pass through and operate in water as easily as they do in air", Bestiary p. 301. It doesn't matter if it's magical water. If you rule that the orb can trap or move the ghost, it has only 50% chance to do so. edit: I agree the ghost would take half damage, the orb being a corporeal spell.


A ghost is not only incorporeal, but also undead, and thus not subject to the damage from Aqueous Orb since it is nonlethal damage.


Thanks everyone for input and provding the sources. This only makes a GM more prepared for the next time. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Aqueous Orb and Incorporeal creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions