Touch Spells and Claws


Rules Questions


I have a draconic bloodline sorcerer, and I was wondering something. If I were to use my claws, could I apply a touch spell to my claws, and deal the damage of both my claws and the spell? Or is that a no-go?

Grand Lodge

You can, but it no longer is against the targets touch AC.


To elaborate a little bit further -- on the round that you cast the touch spell, you can make one free touch attack as well.

If you don't make your free touch attack (or your touch attack misses or the spell includes multiple charges) and you hold the charge of your spell into the next round, then you can take unarmed and natural attacks as normal (against regular AC has BBT noted), and the first one that hits will also discharge the spell as though you had hit with your touch attack.


Ah, so I could as a level 3 sorcerer use Shocking Grasp and my claws together, and I will deal the 3D6 from Shocking Grasp AND the 1-D4+strength mod for each claw attack? (two in one full round) Or would (for some reason) the spell count for each claw? Or only able to use 1 claw when I use both?


On the round that you cast the spell you don't get to use the claw attack, but you do get to make the touch attack as a free action.

If you hold the charge until the next round then you can make the claw attack, and get the spell to discharge also.

The spell work discharges on contact so the second claw would not benefit from it if the first claw hits.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Shocking Grasp is good for ONE (1) successful attack, and discharges. Other spells are good for more than one attack, as specified in the spell.


Ah I understand now. Thanks for clearing that up

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch Spells and Claws All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions