| ShoulderPatch |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Magus, Hexcrafter Archtype, Accursed Strike
Question was discussed in my group today. Ruling was made, but decision was made to inquire further
Is the Accuresed Strike Arcana
A) Automatically gained by all Hexcrafters?
or
B) They have the option to purchase it, but it is not automatically given to them?
---
Witch/Magus:Hexcrafter, Ice Tomb (Major Hex)
1) What is the range of Ice Tomb?
I have seen this asked before here, but have never seen an official answer given.
[Note: I am aware the general answer seems to be '60 feet'. That makes sense and both my group and I feel that's right and play that way, however I'm specifically asking if Paizo has answered]
2) Does the cold damage from Ice Tomb work on creatures that are immune to the paralysis and unconsciousness?
and
3) How exactly does the spell mechanically work?
...are, for example, Undead and Constructs immune to the ice forming on them? Or does the ice form, their immunity just means they can break out of it immediately?
[My group has been running it that yes the ice damage can happen, but no the ice block does not form on creatures that are immune to the paralysis/unconsciousness portion, or who have certain fortitude save immunities (i.e. Undead). Less because of any mechancial reason, then that's what the GM decided to wing it as until we found an official errata, and I haven't had time to check until now]
As before, I'm curious about specifcally has Paizo errata'd it yet somewhere.
| Banatine |
for the question of Accursed Strike, B is right. It is an arcana that only hexcrafter can take, but it must still be taken like any other arcana.
as for Ice Tomb:
there is still no errata for it's range, but for how it affects undead and contructs, i would say that you made the right choices based on common sense, and i would rule the same way in my games.
| ShoulderPatch |
for the question of Accursed Strike, B is right. It is an arcana that only hexcrafter can take, but it must still be taken like any other arcana.
Thanks Banatine. My group and I felt the same way, but to create a pair of NPC Magus (Magi?) quickly our GM just grabbed two stat blocks from PCs people had posted on the net. Both were hexcrafters that had it for 'free'. We were curious how they had read the wording and interpreted it their way, we could see how it could possibly be viewed that way, but we felt the subsection it's in seems more probably to be saying it's 'B'. We wondered if perhaps their was something we misread or missed here on Paizocom. Glad to see we're not the only ones that saw it as we did.
as for Ice Tomb:there is still no errata for it's range, but for how it affects undead and contructs, i would say that you made the right choices based on common sense, and i would rule the same way in my games.
Because of how questionably it's worded (I hate to say poorly, but the frikkin' range was left out, and that doesn't imply 'well done') and how other similiar powers have been erratad it is a little confusing to interpret just on the face of it.
The paralysis and unconsciousness being the first two rules invoked and undead and constructs have immunity to, BUT the cold damage and what appears to be an possible/actual physical entombment in the spell description also involved (and it's not made clear if it's on top of, or only a direct sideeffect of, the magical paralysis/unconsciousness),We all felt...
+Undeads and Constructs could NOT be paralyzed or made unconscious, as they are both immune to both of those.
+They would take cold damage, unless being cold or generally magic immune.
+They might be physically entombed, but if they were, they would be 'conscious' and free to break themselves out immediately. (in the end we decided to err on the side of caution and simplicity for now, but not on any rules point, just for the sake of convienence and 'the game must go on')
I really hope Paizo tags this for a FAQ or errata soon. Ice Tomb is just not a well phrased power, in how it's wording describes it's multiple components, but how they in turn interplay with the core rules.