| HappyDaze |
Greater Planar Binding can target an outsider of up to 18 HD while Gate has a much higher limit. I seriously doubt that an Eidolon ever gets beyond CR 20 since I don't see them on the level of nascent demon lords and the like.
As for the 'aspect of a greater creature' bit, all summons do that. They all summon a facsimile of the true creature, and that is where calling spells differ.
LazarX
|
LazarX wrote:An unfettered Eidolon perhaps, assuming it had a true name that you knew, a summoner's eidolon no.Why not? A Druid's animal companion can be hit with any effect that targets animals, so why can't one target a summoner's eidolon with any effect that targets outsiders?
You can't hit a Druid's Animal Companion with a planar binding spell as it's native to the material plane. And Druids can't reshape and rebuild their animal companion every level either.
Eidolons are you know.,.... different. The fact is the normal Eidolon isn't subject to all of the rules regarding summoned monsters. It's not hedged out by the protection from Alignment spells either. It's a bagfull of exceptions.
| UltimaGabe |
As for the 'aspect of a greater creature' bit, all summons do that.
Not to the extent of a Summoner's Eidolon, though. If you summon a celestial dog, it's a celestial dog, and will always be a celestial dog. Even if you called the same creature, it would still be a celestial dog (though the called version would be able to be killed.) If you summon an eidolon, it could take the form of a dog, a horse, a tiny wingless dragon, a four-pseudopodic amorphous blob, a robot with four legs, two humans joined at the hip with one comatose head and four useless arms, whatever the summoner can think up- as long as it has the appropriate limbs & natural attack modes for its body type and evolutions- because you're not actually summoning the creature, you're summoning an aspect of it that is tied to your abilities and your advancement.
Summoning: A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from, but a summoned object is not sent back unless the spell description specifically indicates this. A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can't be summoned again.
When the spell that summoned a creature ends and the creature disappears, all the spells it has cast expire. A summoned creature cannot use any innate summoning abilities it may have.
There really isn't anything there to suggest you aren't actually summoning the creature- the only thing different from Calling a creature, really, is the fact that it's not dead when it reaches 0 hit points, and that it can't use innate summoning abilities. I don't see any mention of summoning a "facsimile" or "aspect" at all.
| HappyDaze |
HappyDaze wrote:LazarX wrote:An unfettered Eidolon perhaps, assuming it had a true name that you knew, a summoner's eidolon no.Why not? A Druid's animal companion can be hit with any effect that targets animals, so why can't one target a summoner's eidolon with any effect that targets outsiders?You can't hit a Druid's Animal Companion with a planar binding spell as it's native to the material plane. And Druids can't reshape and rebuild their animal companion every level either.
Eidolons are you know.,.... different. The fact is the normal Eidolon isn't subject to all of the rules regarding summoned monsters. It's not hedged out by the protection from Alignment spells either. It's a bagfull of exceptions.
The eidolon does have a bunch of exceptions, but they are all spelled out in the eidolon rules. Where is it spelled out that an eidolon cannot be called?
LazarX
|
LazarX wrote:The eidolon does have a bunch of exceptions, but they are all spelled out in the eidolon rules. Where is it spelled out that an eidolon cannot be called?HappyDaze wrote:LazarX wrote:An unfettered Eidolon perhaps, assuming it had a true name that you knew, a summoner's eidolon no.Why not? A Druid's animal companion can be hit with any effect that targets animals, so why can't one target a summoner's eidolon with any effect that targets outsiders?You can't hit a Druid's Animal Companion with a planar binding spell as it's native to the material plane. And Druids can't reshape and rebuild their animal companion every level either.
Eidolons are you know.,.... different. The fact is the normal Eidolon isn't subject to all of the rules regarding summoned monsters. It's not hedged out by the protection from Alignment spells either. It's a bagfull of exceptions.
Because it's not really a separate creature. It's part of something too big and too Lovecraftian to submit to your puny spell.
| wraithstrike |
You can't call it because it does not really exist until the summoner wants it too. Aspects are not actual creatures. They are representations of another monster that exist. As an example Asmodeus could have an aspect of himself, but you can't really use a calling spell to force Asmodeus to create an aspect or to take his aspect from him.
| HappyDaze |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
You can't call it because it does not really exist until the summoner wants it too. Aspects are not actual creatures. They are representations of another monster that exist. As an example Asmodeus could have an aspect of himself, but you can't really use a calling spell to force Asmodeus to create an aspect or to take his aspect from him.
Are you suggesting that an eidolon is a diety or on par with a diety? I see nothing in the rules that suggests this. I also see nothing that suggests it does not exist until the summoner wants it to exist. The eidolon is an outsider, not a magical construct (although going that way might make the eidolon require fewer rules exceptions).
Is there anything in the RAW that prevents Caling effects from targeting eidolons?
| wraithstrike |
Not at all. My point is that you can not force a creature to create an aspect of itself, and that is what an eidolon is. It is not its own creature. Since the aspect of an eidlon can be powerful enough to take on pit fiends I would say that the actual eidolon could possibly be just as powerful as a deity since the book never says how much more powerful the actual creature is than the aspect.
A summoner begins play with the ability to summon to his side a powerful outsider called an eidolon. The eidolon forms a link with the summoner, who, forever after, summons an aspect of the same creature.
That is what prevents it. You can not call what does not exist.
Now if you are trying to call the actual eidolon, and not the aspect that the summoner calls then the issue is that the actual creature has no official stats, and does not exist in any bestiary. To come up with such stats which would include HD would require GM Fiat. The book only says the original creature is a powerful outsider which is very vague.
Since there are no typical eidolons it seems that each eidolon is a unique creature. Unique creatures can't even be forced to be called with the gate spell.
| HappyDaze |
Not at all. My point is that you can not force a creature to create an aspect of itself, and that is what an eidolon is. It is not its own creature. Since the aspect of an eidlon can be powerful enough to take on pit fiends I would say that the actual eidolon could possibly be just as powerful as a deity since the book never says how much more powerful the actual creature is than the aspect.
Quote:A summoner begins play with the ability to summon to his side a powerful outsider called an eidolon. The eidolon forms a link with the summoner, who, forever after, summons an aspect of the same creature.That is what prevents it. You can not call what does not exist.
Now if you are trying to call the actual eidolon, and not the aspect that the summoner calls then the issue is that the actual creature has no official stats, and does not exist in any bestiary. To come up with such stats which would include HD would require GM Fiat. The book only says the original creature is a powerful outsider which is very vague.
Since there are no typical eidolons it seems that each eidolon is a unique creature. Unique creatures can't even be forced to be called with the gate spell.
Eidolons are no more unique than pit fiends or solars. If every eidolon is an eidolon then they are part of a classification and thus not unique creatures. Just being different within the classification does not create a unique creature.
| wraithstrike |
wraithstrike wrote:You still have not taken care of the other issues such as not having stats for an eidolon(the real one, not the aspect.)Not having stats doesn't mean it can't be done. It just means that the GM has to do the work of statting out the eidolon.
The game assumes that you get to summon/call creatures that exist in the bestiary or some other book with monster stats. Anything else is GM Fiat. GM Fiat is houseruling. I have nothing against it in principle, but when discussing rules it is generally not an option.
If I go to the GM and say "I want to summon/call _____", and he says "show it to me", and I can't......
| wraithstrike |
This may sound dumb and not sure if this is the right place for it but could the Summoner use the 'Unseen Servant' spell and have the servant do the summoning ritual to summon the Eidolon for the Summoner?
How could an unseen servant do it? For the purpose of that question we will assume the unseen servant is actually a creature, which it is not.
An unseen servant is an invisible, mindless, shapeless force that performs simple tasks at your command. It can run and fetch things, open unstuck doors, and hold chairs, as well as clean and mend.
| UltimaGabe |
Not having stats doesn't mean it can't be done. It just means that the GM has to do the work of statting out the eidolon.
Are you seriously arguing DM fiat territory? By that logic, a spellcaster could summon the party fighter if the DM allows it. What's this conversation doing in the rules forum?
| HappyDaze |
HappyDaze wrote:Not having stats doesn't mean it can't be done. It just means that the GM has to do the work of statting out the eidolon.Are you seriously arguing DM fiat territory? By that logic, a spellcaster could summon the party fighter if the DM allows it. What's this conversation doing in the rules forum?
Is the party fighter a non-native outsider? Apples and oranges.
We do know that an eidolon is an outsider. We know that - barring specified exceptions - outsiders can be subject to Calling spells. I'm asking does the eidolon have a specified exception and, if it does, where is it written?
LazarX
|
wraithstrike wrote:You can't call it because it does not really exist until the summoner wants it too. Aspects are not actual creatures. They are representations of another monster that exist. As an example Asmodeus could have an aspect of himself, but you can't really use a calling spell to force Asmodeus to create an aspect or to take his aspect from him.
Are you suggesting that an eidolon is a diety or on par with a diety? I see nothing in the rules that suggests this. I also see nothing that suggests it does not exist until the summoner wants it to exist. The eidolon is an outsider, not a magical construct (although going that way might make the eidolon require fewer rules exceptions).
Is there anything in the RAW that prevents Caling effects from targeting eidolons?
There's nothing in the RAW that allows it. Eidolons are not normal outer planar natives. By the RAW description, the normal Eidolon isn't even a true separate creature. If you try to pull one away from it's master it ceases to exist. There's no description as to where the Eidolon goes when it's banished... perhaps its back to the greater creature the summoner pulled it from.
RAW is not a body of text which states that everything is allowed unless you find a specific rule of no. You have to find support for the positive as well.
Diego Rossi
|
A very basic reason why you can't summon an Eidolon.
...
In addition, the eidolon and the summoner must remain within 100 feet of one another for the eidolon to remain at full strength. If the eidolon is beyond 100 feet but closer than 1,000 feet, its current and maximum hit point totals are reduced by 50%. If the eidolon is more than 1,000 feet away but closer than 10,000 feet, its current and maximum hit point totals are reduced by 75%. If the eidolon is more than 10,000 feet away, it is immediately returned to its home plane. Current hit points lost in this way are not restored when the eidolon gets closer to its summoner, but its maximum hit point total does return to normal.
| HappyDaze |
A very basic reason why you can't summon an Eidolon.
Life Link (Su): wrote:...
In addition, the eidolon and the summoner must remain within 100 feet of one another for the eidolon to remain at full strength. If the eidolon is beyond 100 feet but closer than 1,000 feet, its current and maximum hit point totals are reduced by 50%. If the eidolon is more than 1,000 feet away but closer than 10,000 feet, its current and maximum hit point totals are reduced by 75%. If the eidolon is more than 10,000 feet away, it is immediately returned to its home plane. Current hit points lost in this way are not restored when the eidolon gets closer to its summoner, but its maximum hit point total does return to normal.
This refers to the eidolon when summoned by the summoner. IOW, when all of the specified restrictions are in place.
Diego Rossi
|
Diego Rossi wrote:This refers to the eidolon when summoned by the summoner. IOW, when all of the specified restrictions are in place.A very basic reason why you can't summon an Eidolon.
Life Link (Su): wrote:...
In addition, the eidolon and the summoner must remain within 100 feet of one another for the eidolon to remain at full strength. If the eidolon is beyond 100 feet but closer than 1,000 feet, its current and maximum hit point totals are reduced by 50%. If the eidolon is more than 1,000 feet away but closer than 10,000 feet, its current and maximum hit point totals are reduced by 75%. If the eidolon is more than 10,000 feet away, it is immediately returned to its home plane. Current hit points lost in this way are not restored when the eidolon gets closer to its summoner, but its maximum hit point total does return to normal.
No, Happy. It refer to the Eidolon. Point.
The Eidolons have a specific weakness. You don't get to change a creature weaknesses and resistance because you are using a different method to summon it.If you want to summon a eidolon you need t take the whole package, you don't get to pick an chose "this rule from the eidoln rule", "this rule from the summoning rules", "No, I don't want this rule". Well, unless your GM don't allow you that, but then you are playing a modified version of Pathfinder.Then there is the not little problem that "eidolon" is a catch all name for a group that is larger than a whole race of outsiders.
"An eidolon" isn't the same thing as "an Azata", Bralani. It is the same thin as "an azata" and you can't summon/call/gate "an azata".