"Momentary glimpse" from Oracle of Time: Swift action?


Rules Questions


Hello,

The momentary glimpse revelation (from Time Mystery, Ultimate Magic) says:

Quote:
Momentary Glimpse (Su): Once per day, you can gain a glimpse into your immediate future. On the round after you use this ability, you gain a +2 insight bonus on a single attack roll, saving throw, or skill check or to your Armor Class until the start of your next turn. At 5th level, and every four levels thereafter, you can use this ability one additional time per day.

Since it doesn't say that it needs a standard action (all other powers do), I guess it doesn't waste one (would be grossly underpowered if it were the case).

But then, what is it ? Free action ? Swift action ?

Thanks for your help ;)


It defaults to Standard action unless it specifically says otherwise.


...which then would make it the most craptacular power ever...


It's alright for skill usage.


Cheapy wrote:
It's alright for skill usage.

You mean like Guidance, which is an at-will level 0 spell ?


Yep stacks with that.

Shadow Lodge

"(all other powers do)"

This is not true. For the Oracle most of them list it but it's not universal, even on the Oracle. In general there are a LOT of powers which don't list actions. SUs and SLAs are standard actions, Ex powers are generally 'not an action' and are used as part of doing something. If the power lists a specific action that over-rides the general case.

I do agree that taking a standard action to get a +2 on a single roll the next round is fairly weak.


Over in the Advice Forum I suggested to Regen that the Time Oracle's Momentary Glimpse revelation is half as good as the Dual-cursed Oracle's Misfortune revelation, but Regen pointed out that Momentary Glimpse requires a standard action. This thread from over a year ago is the only discussion I found.

Time mystery revelations wrote:
Momentary Glimpse (Su): Once per day, you can gain a glimpse into your immediate future. On the round after you use this ability, you gain a +2 insight bonus on a single attack roll, saving throw, or skill check or to your Armor Class until the start of your next turn. At 5th level, and every four levels thereafter, you can use this ability one additional time per day.

Thus, Momentary Glimpse

1) Takes a standard action,
2) Has a one-round time time delay,
3) Can be used only once per day (twice at 5th level, thrice at 9th level, etc.),
and all for a single +2 insight bonus. Is this right?

Also, I don't see how to use it practically for saving throws, due to the one-round time delay. In a few cases, such as the second Fortitude save against poison, the player will know of the saving throw in advance, but most saving throws come as a surprise. Even if by coincidence the PC used Momentary Glimpse the round before a saving throw was required, the GM was under no obligation to warn the party.


Sigh, I am really behind the curve in this discussion. Regen already posted a rules query. Please answer there.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Momentary glimpse" from Oracle of Time: Swift action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions