| Frankthedm |
Technically no you don't have access to free actions during an AoO other than talking, so you can't quickdraw to a new weapon during an AoO or activate Grab after a stressful AoO.
That said, I've read a few posts by folks who do allow such things, so don't be surprised if a GM does let big grabby critter start a grab off an AoO.
| Stynkk |
Are AoP's limited to normal attacks, or can you do things like that during an AoP?
You can do combat maneuvers, but only if it says in the description that they replace an Attack. Grapple is a standard action and not an attack, so no Grapple on Attacks of opportunity.
Creatures with the Snatch or Grab special attacks can combo their ability with an attack they make. Some folks will probably say that this is ok to allow on the Attack of Opportunity. Personally, I don't think a creature should be able to use this ability out of turn (I don't like free actions outside of a creature's turn).
Pretty much a GM decision on that.
| DarthEnder |
Technically no you don't have access to free actions during an AoO other than talking, so you can't quickdraw to a new weapon during an AoO or activate Grab after a stressful AoO.
By the wording though, Snatch and Improved Grab are not Free actions.
Snatch
The creature can start a grapple when it hits with a claw or bite attack, as though it had the grab ability. If it grapples a creature three or more sizes smaller, it squeezes each round for automatic bite or claw damage with a successful grapple check. A snatched opponent held in the creature's mouth is not allowed a Reflex save against the creature's breath weapon, if it has one.
Basically, the situation I've run into is, the player is grappled by a monster with Snatch, the player breaks the grapple with his standard action, then attempts to move away with his move action, provoking an AoO. The monster hits with the AoP and immediately initiates a new grapple.
The player in question has a high Escape Artist, making it easy for him to get out of the grapple, but a low CMD, so he's just constantly getting regrappled before he can do anything.
Is this correct?
| Frankthedm |
Is this correct?
No, it is not correct. You cited Snatch. Snatch uses the rules for Grab with additional effect for those victims three or more sizes smaller and a method of reflex save denial. You did not cite Grab. Activating grab does take a free action.
Grab (Ex) If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability.
| Stynkk |
Is this correct?
This topic is debatable, you'll find yes and nos.
If you're the GM and you feel like your characters are getting stymied, then consider not having them snatch (technically you can't free action out of your turn, but as BNW said there is quite a few abilities that are explicitly written to use free actions outside of your turn it is hard to know where to draw the line).
If you're a player in the campaign then talk to the GM, they might open to the idea that repeated snatching seems a little nuts.
| Archaeik |
Well, the issue is the abilities in question are typically considered automatic, but they are worded as free actions which would limit them in terms of AoO. (something I hadn't caught till this thread)
In terms of RAI, I'm not really sure, I've always considered grab to be auto, but since other things like constrict ARE actually worded in a way to be automatic contingent on another action, I guess it's probably not.
| DarthEnder |
DarthEnder wrote:Is this correct?No, it is not correct. You cited Snatch. Snatch uses the rules for Grab with additional effect for those victims three or more sizes smaller and a method of reflex save denial. You did not cite Grab. Activating grab does take a free action.
Grab (Ex) If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability.
I'm going to accept this as the answer. Snatch does specifically say it works like Grab, and Grab specifically says it's a free action, and free actions can't be used during AoP's unless otherwise noted.
Thanks everyone for their input.