What exactly do you multiply on a critical hit?


Rules Questions


Recently came up in game, what bonuses exactly do you multiply on a critical hit?

To the best of my knowledge it works like this, correct me if I'm wrong.
Fighter comes up and hits an orc with his short sword, rolling and confirming a critical hit. For his damage he would roll
1d6 for short sword +2 str bonus times two correct? Adding the str bonus damage to both/each of the 1d6 rolls?

Then say if a ranger came up and did the same he would also get his favored enemy damage bonus to each die roll? Or a fighter's Weapon Training bonus?

Sovereign Court

Every bonus that is not variable is multiplied.

the shortsword example: a crit would deal 2d6 + 4.

If you had a flaming shortsword, which gives +1d6 damage, and had a sneak attack of another +1d6, those are NOT multiplied on a crit.

There are also some non-variable bonuses that are not multiplied, but those are spelled out. If the bonus isn't a die roll, and doesn't say to NOT multiply on a crit, you multiply it.

Remember how multiplication works in PF, btw. Double damage, doubled again is NOT 4x damage. It's only 3x damage.


Everything but extra damage dice (for example, from flaming or sneak attack.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What exactly do you multiply on a critical hit? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions