Form of the dragon breath weapon and static damage bonuses.


Rules Questions


so here's the thing. if you go a sorcerer with the dragonic bloodline you get +1 damage per die on damage spells of your element. if you use form of the dragon to transform into a dragon of your colour, does that mean that you get the damage bonus to your breath weapon damage as well?


No. It would be cool, but the Draconic Bloodline Arcana only gives you a damage boost on Spells that have a descriptor matching your Dragon Type.

Example: Green Dragon Sorcerers deal extra damage on Acid Arrow because it is an [Acid] spell.

Dragon Breath is a creature ability and not a spell so no damage boost. However, the spell Dragon's Breath would work because they gain the [Elemental Descriptor] when you choose the type of dragon you want to emulate.


a pity, as that would have been cool (a blaster build that relied on form of the dragon/shapechange to suplement its blasting would have rocked, as those breath weapon attacks would have saved you a lot of spell slots when dealing with mooks/fodder. and you're a freaking dragon!). i take it the same stipulation applies to evokers?


FuelDrop wrote:
i take it the same stipulation applies to evokers?

Yes, the dragon breath you gain is not a spell, so no evocation bonus.


Stynkk wrote:
FuelDrop wrote:
i take it the same stipulation applies to evokers?
Yes, the dragon breath you gain is not a spell, so no evocation bonus.

even if it was, its a transmutation and not an evocation, so no bonus. i need to start thinking before i type!


FuelDrop wrote:
even if it was, its a transmutation and not an evocation, so no bonus. i need to start thinking before i type!

Lol, I didn't see it either... so... good catch!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Form of the dragon breath weapon and static damage bonuses. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions