Eidolon: Rake and Rend question


Rules Questions


If a eidolon has Rake and Rend, and has a enemy grappled, when doing the Rake attacks, would that also allow the Eidolon to use Rend as well?


They are exactly what the evolutions say, even though the Universal Monster Rules under those abilities are different. So...do they say you can do that?
Source: Jason Bulmahn

Grand Lodge

Rend requires you to hit with two claw attacks. The attacks granted by Rake are rake attacks, although they are delivered by claws.


Quote:
Rend requires you to hit with two claw attacks. The attacks granted by Rake are rake attacks, although they are delivered by claws.

*and modified by most effects that effect your claws

There seems to be some issue where they act like claw attacks, but because they are extra/triggered they don't get things like Grab, and I'd guess Rend as well(even though that would be less broken than grab)

Things you can apply to Rake attacks(not exhaustive)
WF(claw)
INA(claw)
Imp Damage(claw) EVO

or at least this is the pattern if the Beastiary is to be believed

(rend only happens once a round anyway, even for eidolons -- as noted in the link above)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eidolon: Rake and Rend question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.