Summoner Question


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can you can have your Summon Monster SLA and your Eidolon out at the same time? To do this you would use the Summoner's SLA then take 1 minute to call your Eidolon.

(The rules say you can't use your Summon SLA while your Eidolon is active, but there's nothing saying that you can't summon your Eidolon while a Summon is active.)

"Drawing upon this ability uses up the same power as the summoner uses to call his eidolon. As a result, he can only use this ability when his eidolon is not summoned."

At least that is the consensus of the unofficial Summoner's Handbook which I agree with on most things.

http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=184592

Thoughts? Comments?


It is generally understood that summon monster SLA and your Eidolon are anchored via the same magical force within the summoner. Now granted RAW does not specifically say that the summons are dismissed when you summon your Eidolon, but as far as RAI goes it's pretty clear (at least for me).


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

RAW it works.

RAI, not so much. The whole point of that restriction (originally there was no such thing in the first draft) was to make it so the summoner couldn't flood the field with both summons and the eidolon.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

It would only work for an encounter initiated by the player characters, and then only if the summoner is level 2 or higher, since you use up a minute of the Summon Monster SLA's duration summoning your eidolon. If the enemy decides to start the fight early, you are stuck without your eidolon at that point.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

It would only work for an encounter initiated by the player characters, and then only if the summoner is level 2 or higher, since you use up a minute of the Summon Monster SLA's duration summoning your eidolon. If the enemy decides to start the fight early, you are stuck without your eidolon at that point.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoner Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.