| Jacob Armoir |
| 4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
I can't seem to find rules for an eidolon wearing wondorous items or if the synthesist wearing the item works for both.
example if the synthesist is wearing a belt of giants strength and then summons his eidolon would the eidolon get the plus 2 to strength?........
or when the eidolon goes to his own plane do the items drop to the ground if the eidolon can infact wear them..... i know that the eidolon cant wear armor... but dosen't say he cant wear wondorous items
| Skylancer4 |
This would be a special case, I think. The belt provides a permanent enhancement bonus to the synthesist's strength score. When fused the eidolon's strength score replaces the synthesist's entirely. This should also replace any permanent bonuses to the synthesist's ability score.
But it isn't called out as a special case unlike the armor. The ability list of a synth says it can use the gear, except armor stops working when fused. The gear the synth is wearing would continue to provide its benefit when fused (excepting stacking issues with multiple similar bonus, which would just provide the largest bonus following the stacking rules) as per the class description.
An amulet that provided a natural armor bonus of +1 would continue to work but provide no bonus when fused with a synth that got a +2 natural armor bonus from its eidolon for example. The synth would just get the +2 bonus.
| Heaven's Agent |
The Synthesist and his Eidolon is ONE CREATURE. It says explicitly that the synthesist uses all his own abilities when fused.
Actually no. He doesn't use his own physical ability scores. In this aspect the summoner and eiolon are separate.
Here's another way of looking at it. The belt provides a permanent bonus, as does a wish spell or magical book used to increase a synthesist's strength. Would these bonuses be applied to the eidolon's strength as well?
I don't think items that provide a permanent bonus to a synthesist's physical ability scores provide any benefit when fused. They still function, but are overwritten by the eidolon's score.
| SlimGauge |
I believe you're right about the wish or the book, because they're instantaneous and done, but the belt it continuous.
You're saying that the synthesist should remove his belt, summon his eidolon, fuse with it, and then redon his belt. Since they're now one creature, the belt should modify the strength of the combination just fine. You could argue that the bonus reverts to a temporary bonus instead of a permanent one, but it's just easier to say that items that produce a continuous effect (except armor, specifically called out as an exception) continue to function unless the fused form doesn't have the slot that the item functions in (if the synthesist had boots of levitiation but his fused form is serpentine, for example).
| Derwalt |
Ok - there is no official answer here, but I really think it's quite simple.
Under the Synthesist in Ultimate Magic it says (my bold):
Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature. The synthesist and eidolon cannot take separate actions. While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist can use all of his own abilities and gear.
The FAQ makes an exception on ARMOR only:
Summoner: Does a synthesist (page 80) keep any armor bonuses or other benefits from his armor when he is fused with his eidolon?
No. The eidolon is, in effect, the synthesist's armor, and any armor the synthesist wears does not function while the eidolon is present. Fortunately, this doesn't mean the synthesist has to remove his armor when wearing the eidolon, and when the eidolon is banished/dismissed/killed, the summoner's worn armor immediately begins functioning again.—Sean K Reynolds, 08/03/11
There is no mentioning of any magical items functioning differently. The synthesist and the eidolon are FUSED INTO ONE CREATURE - and magic items / gear function as normal for one creature. The one creature uses physical stats that are a little different from any other creatures - but apart from that all is normal. And gear functions normally.
It might be a good idea to mark this as FAQ, because it's come up a lot of times already, but I do think it's obvious what the intent is here.
| Derwalt |
...or think of the Belt of Giant Strenght as if someone cast Bull's Strength on the Synthesist. It provides an enhancement bonus to strength - which works no matter if the the eidolon is summoned or not. And it's the same with spells like invisibility - and also with all kinds of spells that penalize the eidolon - they don't go away simply becuase the eidolon does.
Summoner: What happens when a synthesist (page 80) takes a penalty, suffers an affliction, or has an ongoing effect when the eidolon disappears?
These effects persist on the summoner after the eidolon is gone. For example, a ray of enfeeblement on the fused character continues to affect the summoner after the eidolon is gone, as would a bestow curse spell or acid arrow spell, as would continuing poison damage. These effects apply to the character as a whole, and just because the eidolon is gone doesn't mean the summoner is freed from the effect (ability damage is tracked separately, as described in another FAQ, because it is a separate game statistic that the summoner "borrows" from the eidolon). If the condition or effect ends (whether from its duration running out, being cured/negated/dispelled, and so on) while the eidolon is gone, it doesn't return when the eidolon is resummoned. This applies to beneficial effects as well as harmful ones--an invisible summoner isn't suddenly visible if his eidolon disappears, nor does he become invisible again if the duration ran out while the eidolon was gone.—Sean K Reynolds, 08/03/11
| Heaven's Agent |
...or think of the Belt of Giant Strenght as if someone cast Bull's Strength on the Synthesist. It provides an enhancement bonus to strength - which works no matter if the the eidolon is summoned or not. And it's the same with spells like invisibility - and also with all kinds of spells that penalize the eidolon - they don't go away simply becuase the eidolon does.
A bulls strength spell is different as it targets the synthesist/eidolon, and doesn't really have any bearing on this matter as a result. An ability that targets the synthesist also targets the eidolon, but the belt does not actually create a targeted effect.
It does illustrate part of the issue, though: if the effect of the belt were a targeted effect there would be no issue. I'm not claiming the item fails or ceases to function when the synthesist fuses with his eidolon. However, you have to consider how the item itself functions.
The belt provides a permanent bonus to the wearer, in this situation providing an enhancement bonus to the synthesist's strength score. The ability that allows a synthesist to fuse with his eidolon is worded very specifically in this respect: the eidolon's score replaces the synthesist's. The eidolon's score doesn't modify or boost the synthesist's score, it completely overwrites it. The belt is still functioning, but the strength score it is modifying is now not being utilized.
| Kolokotroni |
Derwalt wrote:...or think of the Belt of Giant Strenght as if someone cast Bull's Strength on the Synthesist. It provides an enhancement bonus to strength - which works no matter if the the eidolon is summoned or not. And it's the same with spells like invisibility - and also with all kinds of spells that penalize the eidolon - they don't go away simply becuase the eidolon does.A bulls strength spell is different as it targets the synthesist/eidolon, and doesn't really have any bearing on this matter as a result. An ability that targets the synthesist also targets the eidolon, but the belt does not actually create a targeted effect.
It does illustrate part of the issue, though: if the effect of the belt were a targeted effect there would be no issue. I'm not claiming the item fails or ceases to function when the synthesist fuses with his eidolon. However, you have to consider how the item itself functions.
The belt provides a permanent bonus to the wearer, in this situation providing an enhancement bonus to the synthesist's strength score. The ability that allows a synthesist to fuse with his eidolon is worded very specifically in this respect: the eidolon's score replaces the synthesist's. The eidolon's score doesn't modify or boost the synthesist's score, it completely overwrites it. The belt is still functioning, but the strength score it is modifying is now not being utilized.
The bonus is considered temporary for the first 24 hours it is worn, so even if you held the view that a permanent bonus functions like a wish spell, the temporary bonus should function more like bulls strength or a similar spell. Meaning if he simply removes it and puts it on after the eidolon is summoned, it ought to function normally. Because when he puts the belt on, his strength score IS the eidolons strength score, it is no longer his own, so the belt provides an enhancement bonus to that score.
| Heaven's Agent |
And the wearer is the fused creature, neither component of wich can be affected without affecting the other. The belt affects both components.
If that were the case in all things, then why is there a clear distinction between the synthesist's physical ability scores and the eidolon's. Why are they treated as separate ability scores? The rules define the two values separately, and such they are literally different things. In this instance, the belt would only apply to one of those different things.
Now if the the synthesist were to remove the belt, fuse, and then put it on once more, then it should effect the eidolon's strength score. But as written the belt only effects one value at a time, and as written a synthesist's and an eidolon's strength scores are separate and distinct. Perhaps not the intent, I admit, but it is a strict reading of the rules.
Artanthos
|
SlimGauge wrote:And the wearer is the fused creature, neither component of wich can be affected without affecting the other. The belt affects both components.If that were the case in all things, then why is there a clear distinction between the synthesist's physical ability scores and the eidolon's. Why are they treated as separate ability scores? The rules define the two values separately, and such they are literally different things. In this instance, the belt would only apply to one of those different things.
Now if the the synthesist were to remove the belt, fuse, and then put it on once more, then it should effect the eidolon's strength score. But as written the belt only effects one value at a time, and as written a synthesist's and an eidolon's strength scores are separate and distinct. Perhaps not the intent, I admit, but it is a strict reading of the rules.
This belt is a thick leather affair, often decorated with huge metal buckles. The belt grants the wearer an enhancement bonus to Strength of +2, +4, or +6. Treat this as a temporary ability bonus for the first 24 hours the belt is worn.
The belt provides an enhancement bonus, it does not change the base stat. The eidolon replaces the base stat, but has no impact on anything modifying that stat.
While you may treat effects that last more than 24 hours as permanent, they are not. Even a wish is just an effect modifying a base stat, one capable of being removed.
| Jacob Armoir |
surprised at how many post this has gotten. i would have to agree with some of this. but my main question wasn't asked properly.
if i as a synthesist summon my eidolon form and then put on the belt. after teh eidolon reaches 0 hp it goes to its home plane. what hapens to the items them selves? i believe if you put a belt on an eidolon it is on the eidolon even in his home plane. but i may bewrong
Artanthos
|
If your a synthesist, don't put the items on your eidolon, wear them yourself.
Even as a normal summoner, you don't generally put items on your eidolon, you wear them yourself and apply the effects to the eidolon.
Personally, I would rule the items would either be on the summoner or fall to the ground as appropriate, but RAW does not explicitly provide an answer.
| Derwalt |
Just wear all your gear yourself. It is written CLEARLY in the rules.
"While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist can use all of his own abilities and gear."
I still believe that Heaven's Agent is wrong, and I believe it's been shown repeatedly in this thread. You and your eidolon is fused into one creature and you can use all your own abilities and gear (armor being the ONE exception).