Kusarigama, which end of this thing is finesseable again?


Rules Questions


So my ninja picked up a kusarigama the other day, and lo and behold, he's proficient.

He doesn't have TWF, however, but he does have weapon finesse.

Which end of the kusari-gama is the finessable end again (if he uses it two handed, I suppose)? And can he just use the sickle end to attack enemies 5 ft away or does he have to use it as a reach weapon (as ahistorical as that is).

prototype00

Sovereign Court

Hmmmm...from what I see it doesn't look like any part of it is finesse-able. Just counts as a one-handed and light weapon for two-weapon fighting. At least if I'm reading the double property correctly.

PRD wrote:
Double: You can use a double weapon to fight as if fighting with two weapons, but if you do, you incur all the normal attack penalties associated with fighting with two weapons, just as if you were using a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. You can choose to wield one end of a double weapon two-handed, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.

It never says it counts as a light weapon, just to use that level of penalty for two weapon fighting.

Ask your DM if they'll let you finesse it though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kusarigama, which end of this thing is finesseable again? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions