Snap Shot and Stabbing Shot?


Rules Questions


Good morning all, how about some rules crunch to start your day off right.

If a character with Snap Shot has somebody adjacent to them (in their threatened area) and uses Stabbing Shot successfully (causing them to leave the threatened area), will the s/he get an attack of opportunity? If so, does this AoO happen after the full attack or interrupt it?

Thanks


Ugh, another reason why I try to stay exclusive to Core when I play. The ruling for this could go either way, though I would not allow it. Why? Because I am forcing you, to provoke my attack of opportunity. If you allowed this, you are, after a fashion, allowing others to take feats to give them free AoO in addition to their normal attack.

I also heartily dislike the Stabbing and Snap Shot feats. Consider this, as per the description of the feat, you push someone back, without an opposed check, and regardless of size, by 5 feet. Does that mean if someone is on the edge of a cliff, say an orc, or giant, you can simply push him off the cliff, no save, no check, no nothing? If so, Stabbing Shot is a feat that potentially allows people to 1-hit-kill creatures in the right situation.


Tels wrote:
Ugh, another reason why I try to stay exclusive to Core when I play...

Don't worry, I haven't inflicted this on anybody, nor do I really have plans to. I just saw what looked like an interesting rules interaction and wanted to know if it worked.


Lurk3r wrote:

Good morning all, how about some rules crunch to start your day off right.

If a character with Snap Shot has somebody adjacent to them (in their threatened area) and uses Stabbing Shot successfully (causing them to leave the threatened area), will the s/he get an attack of opportunity? If so, does this AoO happen after the full attack or interrupt it?

Thanks

I think as a general rule, being forced to move does not provoke an attack of opportunity, even if it ordinarily would if the movement were voluntary. I'm not sure if this is explicitly stated in the rules somewhere (if it is, I can't find it), or if it's simply inferred from the fact that when a forced movement *does* provoke attacks of opportunity, it is always explicitly mentioned (see the Greater Bull Rush feat, for example).

The way I usually play it, if the rules don't explicitly state that a forced movement provokes, then it doesn't.

Grand Lodge

Would the movement provoke from others threatening the target?

Silver Crusade

Tels wrote:
Does that mean if someone is on the edge of a cliff, say an orc, or giant, you can simply push him off the cliff, no save, no check, no nothing? If so, Stabbing Shot is a feat that potentially allows people to 1-hit-kill creatures in the right, almost impossible to come with, relying on you using a melee weapon with an archer, not speaking about what would happen if the monster attempted to catch you with a reflex save, situation.

Corrected it for you. Also, no, the movement would not provoke, the enemy is merely pushed away.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Snap Shot and Stabbing Shot? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions