What type of action is a supernatural ability that doesnt state what type of action is in the description?


Rules Questions


Im interested in creating an Oracle and i find lots of abilites from Oracle Mysteries in the UM interesting, but lots of these dont state what type of action they require. for example:

Ancestral Weapon (Su): You can summon a simple or martial
weapon from your family’s history that is appropriate for
your current size. You are considered proficient with this
weapon. At 3rd level, the weapon is considered masterwork.
At 7th level, 15th level, and 19th level, the weapon gains
a cumulative +1 enhancement bonus. At 11th level, the
weapon gains the ghost touch weapon property. You can use
this ability for a number of minutes per day equal to your
oracle level. This duration does not need to be consecutive,
but it must be used in 1-minute increments. The weapon
disappears after 1 round if it leaves your grasp.

or

Spirit Shield (Su): You can call upon the spirits of your
ancestors to form a shield around you that blocks incoming
attacks and grants you a +4 armor bonus. At 7th level, and
every four levels thereafter, this bonus increases by +2. At
13th level, this shield causes arrows, rays, and other ranged
attacks requiring an attack roll against you to have a 50%
miss chance. You can use this shield for 1 hour per day per
oracle level. This duration does not need to be consecutive,
but it must be spent in 1-hour increments.

And there are plenty others in the same pattern. Does anyone have a clue as to what type of action they require in order to be activated? Im guessing they require a standard action but asking never hurt anyone.

Thanks in advance!


If it's not mentioned, it's a standard action.

Unless it makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.

Shadow Lodge

From the combat chapter:

Supernatural Abilities (Su): Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Liberty's Edge

Oracle Revelations wrote:


At 1st level, 3rd level, and every four levels thereafter (7th, 11th, and so on), an oracle uncovers a new secret about her mystery that grants her powers and abilities. The oracle must select a revelation from the list of revelations available to her mystery. If a revelation is chosen at a later level, the oracle gains all of the abilities and bonuses granted by that revelation based on her current level. Unless otherwise noted, activating the power of a revelation is a standard action.


Austin Morgan wrote:
Oracle Revelations wrote:


At 1st level, 3rd level, and every four levels thereafter (7th, 11th, and so on), an oracle uncovers a new secret about her mystery that grants her powers and abilities. The oracle must select a revelation from the list of revelations available to her mystery. If a revelation is chosen at a later level, the oracle gains all of the abilities and bonuses granted by that revelation based on her current level. Unless otherwise noted, activating the power of a revelation is a standard action.

I wonder how i missed that:( its kinda late here and im sleepy i guess... Thank you!

Silver Crusade

A discussion came up Concerning the Arcane Archer Prestige class. Does the Enhance Arrows (SU) cost 1 standard action. My thoughts are it does but another disagrees. Reading the wordage on Supernatural Abilities, it does unless the descriptor states otherwise. The paragraph makes no mention of actions
Both Paladins and Monks have SU that specifically state other actions are used.

Tks
B


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
BDD wrote:

A discussion came up Concerning the Arcane Archer Prestige class. Does the Enhance Arrows (SU) cost 1 standard action. My thoughts are it does but another disagrees. Reading the wordage on Supernatural Abilities, it does unless the descriptor states otherwise. The paragraph makes no mention of actions

Both Paladins and Monks have SU that specifically state other actions are used.

Tks
B

The wording used is, "At 1st level, every nonmagical arrow an arcane archer nocks and lets fly becomes magical, gaining a +1 enhancement bonus."

This isn't an action at all -- it just happens, every time the arcane archer nocks and fires an arrow. In fact, the Arcane Archer doesn't even have the ability to not use the ability (unless using magical arrows or standing in an anti-magic field).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What type of action is a supernatural ability that doesnt state what type of action is in the description? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions