Pre-requisites and Magic Items on spell trigger and spell completion items.


Rules Questions


The rules state that you have a +5 DC for every pre-requisite that you do not meet.

It then goes on to say that the "ONLY exception to this is the item creation feat"

It then goes on to say that "in addition you cannot create spell trigger and spell completion items without meeting their spell pre-requisites"

Does this mean that:

1. You add +5 to the DC of making a spell trigger or spell completion item if you are cooperating with another player with different spell pre-requisites.

Or

2. You just cannot make spell completion/trigger items if you cannot meet the spell pre-requisite?


You have to have the spell to make the spell completion or spell trigger items. However, as long as you can get the spell cast, you should be able to make the item. So, if you're a wizard using Brew Potion and want to make healing potions, if you have a friendly cleric to cast the cure spell each day into the process, you should be fine. Same with a wand.

Of course, the GM is the final arbiter. There shouldn't be any DC change though if he's allowing someone else to cast the spell for you. You're meeting the requirements by casting the spell into the potion/wand/etc.

Sovereign Court

2 is correct, but I think you're misunderstanding the concept of cooperating with another caster.

If another caster provides the spell prerequisite, then the spell prerequisite is met. This allows spell completion/trigger items to be created in this way and eliminats the need for a +5 DC adjustment on other items.

If you have no source at all for a spell pre-requisite, either cast from a scroll or wand or another caster or cast by the creator or any other source, then you increase the crafting DC by 5 for non-spell completion/trigger items. For spell completion/trigger items you cannot make that item.

Edit: Ninja tiger!!


Talon Stormwarden wrote:


Edit: Ninja tiger!!

Ninja's and Tiger's and Ninja Tiger's oh my!


OK, I think I worded it wrong, but you've answered my question anyway.

My concern was that I would not be able to complete spell trigger or completion items if my character did not personally know the spell, and that co-operation on this sort of item was not allowed.

Thank you for your help with this.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pre-requisites and Magic Items on spell trigger and spell completion items. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.