Item Creation: Multiple castings of a spell into a single scroll considered a single item?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If you want to make a scroll of say Comprehend Languages with multiple spells on it, can you, if you have 2 or more spells currently memorized cast them both to create a single scroll in 2 hours?

Or do you need to spend 2 days since you can't make more than one item a day?


Excellent question, and relevant to my interests.

A "scroll" is a single magic item that can contain multiple spells, so yeah. I don't see why you couldn't load up 1000 gp worth of spells onto a single roll of bounty tissue in one day.

I'd be very interested to hear other opinions on this.


The rules for scrolls are specific:
"You can create a scroll of any spell that you know. Scribing a scroll takes 2 hours if its base price is 250 gp or less, otherwise scribing a scroll takes 1 day for each 1,000 gp in its base price. To scribe a scroll, you must use up raw materials costing half of this base price."

* You can scribe a scroll with a single spell.
* The time needed for scroll creation is based on gp cost.
* If the gp cost is less than or equal to 250gp it only takes 2 hours.
* If the gp cost is greater than 250gp it takes 1 day per 1000gp
* If you refer to the Scrolls page, you'll find that any spell 2nd level or lower qualifies as a 2-hour scribe process

You cannot create more than one scroll in 2 hours.

As far as creating a 'scroll' with multiple spells on it, I don't see why you couldn't have a longer sheet of parchment on which you scribe multiple spells, but the actually scribing of the spells must be done according to the rules, one at a time.


"Although an individual scroll might contain more than one spell, each spell must be scribed as a separate effort, meaning that no more than 1 spell can be scribed in a day."

Guess you can't.


I never really considered more than one spell per scroll. It might have all sorts of perks in terms of action economy.

I pullout my scroll with create pit, true strike, and hydrolic push.


Exactly...Saving yourself having to pull out a second scroll allows you more options with that Move action.

If you look at the random treasure chart in the Gamemastery guide you'll see a charge for number of spells per scroll.

What I like to do is at the end of the day whatever spells I haven't cast that don't necessarily require a Saving Throw against your target, I create a scroll of it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Item Creation: Multiple castings of a spell into a single scroll considered a single item? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions