Dismissing a charmed Eidolon.


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

So the Summoner lost controll of his Eidolon due to some nefarious rage inducing mists. Eidolon started wrecking the party, then the summoner dissmissed the raging Eidolon.

I allowed it because I wasnt sure if that would work and I didnt want to slow down gameplay looking it up. But now, was that a legit tactic on the summoners part or should I have given the Eidolon a save to resist being sent away?


It's legit. The Summoner can spend a Standard Action to dismiss the eidolon. Because of their bond, it gets no save or resistance to this ability.


Totally legit call.


When something such as a familiar, animal companion, and so on is dismissed it seems the dismisser just makes it happen. It is not asking it to leave.
If the wording was "You may try to dismiss/send away...." or "You may ask....." I would say the dismissed NPC has a choice, but an eidolon can no more resist being dismissed than it can resist being summoned, at least by the rules anyway.

Sovereign Court

Then I will mark it as a legit strategy should the situation arise again.


Nice Avatar Sterling. :)


wraithstrike wrote:
Nice Avatar Sterling. :)

LOL had a moment where i thought it was you till you posted.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dismissing a charmed Eidolon. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.