Drawing weapons and stepping


Rules Questions


Could I get some confirmation that I haven't been completely out to lunch for the past decade, and that you are in fact allowed to draw a weapon and take a 5-foot step in the same round? As in, doing a move action that doesn't involve movement doesn't prohibit the five-foot step?

Dark Archive

That is correct.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yep. A move action isn't necessarily movement just as movement isn't necessarily a move action.


To find out if you can take a five-foot step...

Map out your character's entire turn, beginning to end -- all his actions.

Now, mark every square that your character occupies from the beginning of his turn to the end.

How many squares did you mark? If the answer is "just one", then you may add a five-foot step in there somewhere. If your answer is some number greater than one, then you may not.


Yeah, this is what I thought. Found the reference. Kind of in plain sight, actually.

CRB Page 181 wrote:

Move Action: A move action allows you to move up to your speed or perform an action that takes a similar amount of time. See Table: Actions in Combat for other move actions.

You can take a move action in place of a standard action. If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move action for one or more equivalent actions), you can take one 5-foot step either before, during, or after the action.

Knew I wasn't imagining things.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Drawing weapons and stepping All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.