Did I miss something?


Rules Questions


Recently I saw this post and even referred to it a few times myself since its a pretty sweet combo. Basically a bard can lay down three buffs (inspire courage, good hope and haste) in one round with the help of a quicken rod, a pretty impressive deed. However, I thought about it for a little bit and now I see this:

PRD wrote:
Inspire Courage (Su): A 1st-level bard can use his performance to inspire courage in his allies (including himself), bolstering them against fear and improving their combat abilities. To be affected, an ally must be able to perceive the bard's performance. An affected ally receives a +1 morale bonus on saving throws against charm and fear effects and a +1 competence bonus on attack and weapon damage rolls. At 5th level, and every six bard levels thereafter, this bonus increases by +1, to a maximum of +4 at 17th level. Inspire courage is a mind-affecting ability. Inspire courage can use audible or visual components. The bard must choose which component to use when starting his performance.

Then here we have the spell good hope

PRD wrote:

This spell instills powerful hope in the subjects. Each affected creature gains a +2 morale bonus on saving throws, attack rolls, ability checks, skill checks, and weapon damage rolls.

Good hope counters and dispels crushing despair.

Alright this is the last quote I promise.

PRD wrote:
Bonus: Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.

So these do not stack? If so I am kinda disappointed as bard is one of my favorite classes and I liked seeing this combo for them. The question is, do inspire courage and good hope stack?

Dark Archive

The inspire courage morale bonus is only for the saves versus fear. The +1 to hit and damage are competence bonuses.

So you get all of the bonuses except the saves for fear from inspire courage.

So it would be a +3 to hit and damage and a +2 to saves.


The portions of the effects that are morale bonuses do not stack, but the rest of the effects do.

If you look closer at Inspire Courage you will see it is only a moral bonus on saving throws against charm and fear effects. So, if you also have good hope the bonus to those saving throws does not stack.

If you like Inspire Courage for the bonus to attack and weapon damage though, you are in luck... those are competence bonuses (it's in your quote so I won't repost).

Sean


Sweet glad to know that this still works and I just can't read.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Did I miss something? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.