Magic Staves


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Hola Everyone. I just have a quick question regarding magical staves creation. I know that a magic stave can have any spell imbued into it. And I know that you can store more than one spell into the staff. Also, I am aware that the wizard can recharge the staff. Awesome. The question I have is that is it possible to create a magical stave that has let say three spells, and has an enhancement bonus to attack and damage. Or can it have a fireburst property on it. I checked through item creation and there is nothing that in the text that goes with or against my idea. I do think I can, I just want to verify if it is possible. I would appreciate any help, thoughts and ideas. Thank you.


It'd be expensive, since it's a weapon and a magical stave. Probably 1.5x the cost of the lower costing component (weapon or stave) added to the other. The bonuses would only apply to the weapon of course, and not the spells. The staff magus may be up your alley.

Grand Lodge

The real question is for what character is this? If it's a pure wizard, by the time he's at the level you're thinking about, melee combat is the last place he wants to be. If he wants to badly enough, greater magic weapon will let him get up to +5 in enhancement and it's got decent duration.

IF it's a Magus, he can use his arcane pool to put combat enhancements on his staff, which works especially well if he's also a Staff Magus.

Dark Archive

Staff spells are spell trigger activated so only characters with those spells on their spell list are using those spells.

Silver Crusade

What I had thought in mind was that, when my wizard is high enough to create and handle these items, he can use the hand of the apprentice attack without having to switch between another weapon. Personally, I think this would be cool and useful considering there might be a time when all his spells are gone, and the only thing he has left is the hand of the apprentice attack is which is useful for long range attacks.

Paizo Employee Director of Games

You can imbue a staff with magic weapon enhancements (see staff of power), but this should generally be done at an increased cost, multiplying the lower costed abilities by 1.5 is the typical rule.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

Grand Lodge

You might be better off enchanting a dagger for that purpose.

Silver Crusade

Thank you soooo much. You have helped me a lot. This makes my game much more fun. He he :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Staves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions