Hurling Charge Question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Reading over the Hurling Charge Rage Power, a question popped into my mind. Is this power usable with any thrown weapon or is it only for items used through the Hurling Rage Power?

On top of that, the Hurling, Lesser Rage Power states that a hurled item does damage as a falling object. Does this mean it has to travel 30 feet to deal full damage?


Joshua Hirtz wrote:
Reading over the Hurling Charge Rage Power, a question popped into my mind. Is this power usable with any thrown weapon or is it only for items used through the Hurling Rage Power?

Hurling Charge (Ex) says "a hurled weapon" so I believe the intent is for it to only work with the improvised weapon objects that she can throw using the Lesser/x/Greater Hurling powers. It does say "thrown weapon" multiple times afterward, though, so by RAW you could probably get away with flinging a javelin or something.

Joshua Hirtz wrote:
On top of that, the Hurling, Lesser Rage Power states that a hurled item does damage as a falling object. Does this mean it has to travel 30 feet to deal full damage?

It doesn't state explicitly. "This inflicts damage as a falling object (Core Rulebook 443) plus the barbarian's Strength bonus."

Table: Damage from Falling Objects lists a base damage based on size, which is then modified by distance (halved under 30, double over 150) so I would assume you should use the base damage for the item from the table.

A 12th level barbarian using a full-round action to throw a rock 10 feet and deal 4d6+Str isn't overpowering, but combining it for free with a charge might be. I guess it depends on if the rules for hurling charge (one free hand, throw during charge) override the normal rules for throwing two-handed objects (two hands, full-round action).


Mmm more fun with Hurling...

I have also been thinking about a Hurling Barbarian so I had some follow up questions related to this and the comments Grick posted.

Grick wrote:
A 12th level barbarian using a full-round action to throw a rock 10 feet and deal 4d6+Str isn't overpowering, but combining it for free with a charge might be. I guess it depends on if the rules for hurling charge (one free hand, throw during charge) override the normal rules for throwing two-handed objects (two hands, full-round action).

Let's say that under normal circumstances you cannot hurl a two-handed object with the APG Barbarian Power Hurling Charge because of the rules bit that states throwing a two handed weapon takes a full round action. (I can't find it at the moment so if someone could link me to it, that would be great).

Although I am not certain that I necessarily agree with this - let's assume this is correct for this instance.

How does Raging Hurler factor in? Is a character with the Raging Hurler feat and Hurling Charge allowed to charge, throw a 2h object then finish their charge?

Also, due to Raging Hurler's inclusion of "Further, you can pick up an unattended object that you can use as a improvised weapon within your reach as part of the attack action to throw that item." could you feasibly pick up an object mid-charge as you run by said object, toss it then complete the charge?

Finally, if you charge a distance equal to your speed or less, can you still "also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1." (from Charge in the CRB)?

Extra Credit:

If you throw a weapon (like a Medium sized greatsword) as an improvised weapon (for Hurling), what size Object is it considered for Falling Damage?

Can you even pick up a Large or Huge Object as a medium creature (assuming you had the strength to do so) and hurl it as an improvised weapon (with the Hurling/Greater Hurling Powers)?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hurling Charge Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.