Clarification on monster attacks, pushing, pulling and AoO


Rules Questions


Hi,

I read and re-read about monster attacks and checked up on messages that discuss it but am just a TAD confused. I get that in a full round attack, the monster can use a primary and secondary(s?), and secondary attacks take a -5 penalty. Just to post an example of my understanding

Balor:
+1 vorpal unholy longsword +31/+26/+21/+16 (2d6+13),
+1 vorpal flaming whip +30/+25/+20 (1d4+7 plus 1d6 fire and
entangle) or 2 slams +31 (1d10+12)

To make a full round's worth of attacks, he'd possibly:

Primary attack: +31/+26/+21/+16
Secondary attack (after -5 penalty):+25/+20/+15
For a total of 7 strikes.

Second possibility:

Primary attack: +31/+26/+21/+16
Secondary attack (-5 penalty): +25/+20/+15, +26slam/+26(+21?)slam
For a total of 9 strikes.

To ask a more straightforward question, supposing an enemy has several attacks (claw, bite, tail whip, slam and others, generally more than two), could he use ALL of them in a full round, or does he have to choose ONE for primary and ONE for secondary? Also, if it states 2 claw(s), does that mean two attacks as a primary, both with the same attack bonus? For instance if the balor chooses to make only two slams, are they both at +31?

On pushing and pulling, supposing I want to push an enemy one square (with/without following him, either I'd only push him one square without following him into the square I pushed him off of, or I'd head into his square after doing so), how does that play out mechanicall speaking? If I want to pull, I also read there's something called dragging, but if I push him forward, is that still under the dragging rules? The thing is, I saw the gate spell and was curious, say a wiz/sorc opens up a gate (to a spot in the abyss/wherever) right behind an enemy, could the fighter forcefully push the enemy right into the gate? Could a fighter also forcefully push an enemy away from an ally?

On AoO, supposing an enemy wants to move past me and I get an AoO, does that attack of opportunity stop the creature and waste the rest of its move action, or can it continue moving?

(on an additional note, if someone/something rolls a will/fort/ref save, it's against 10+appropriate ability modifier+spell level, right? Also, caster level checks are unnecessary unless the target has spell resistance, correct?)


A monster's attack entries already include all the penalties that would apply when it makes a full attack.

So: The Balor's full attack is actually the first thing you listed. It either uses its iterative TWF attacks with both longsword and whip, for +31/etc and +30/etc (7 strikes total), or it uses its two slams at +31 each (2 strikes total).

Primary/secondary only matters for natural attacks. There's a table in the bestiary listing which types of natural attacks are primary and which are secondary (for instance: bites and claws are always primary, while wings are always secondary). Regardless of primary/secondary status, the monster can use all of its natural attacks during a full attack. The Bestiary statblocks already make these calculations for you for the monster's attack routine.

Essentially: Monster full attacks are pre-calculated and "use-as-is".


Thanks for the clarification, a guy I know is going to be DMing pathfinder after a long period of 4e (heheh, he loves 4e but thankfully the players and I have a passion for 3/3.5/PF) and this is going to be very helpful for him. It is kind of terrifying though, given that some enemies have quite a few natural attacks.

Any info on the remaining points would be much appreciated.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification on monster attacks, pushing, pulling and AoO All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions