Does Transformation work on your familiar?


Rules Questions


the spell transformation. your pet fluffy. what would happen if (via share spells class feature) the two should happen to meet?

before you ask, this is part of a thought experiment i'm toying with, and pending results may come into a thread on general discussion. this thread does not condone the use of familiars as ultra-violent killing machines, and acknoledges that few responsable spellcasters if any would even consider casting the spell in this way. no familiars were harmed in the making of this thread.


Spell + familiar = Familiar affected by the spell as written in the spell description.

What is your question or problem?


Eridan wrote:

Spell + familiar = Familiar affected by the spell as written in the spell description.

What is your question or problem?

your BAB=your Character level. what's a familiar's character level? does it use its master's, like it does with hit dice?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The only effect of the spell that I can see might raise a question is the transformed familiar's BAB, which is equal to its character level, which as it has no class equals its Hit Dice, which equals its master's character level (I think we can discount the possibility that a familiar's normal Hit Dice could be higher than the level of a master who can cast transformation).


cool, all questions answered. i suspected that was how it worked, but i wanted some confirmation before going any further.
thanks all, the thread is closed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Transformation work on your familiar? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions