Samurai - Honor In All Things order ability only usable on your turn?


Rules Questions


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

This came up last session. Bad guy casts a spell and I went to use the Order of the Warrior - Honor In All Things ability to boost the save.

Quote:
Whenever the samurai makes a skill check or saving throw, he can call upon his honor as a free action to grant him a +4 morale bonus on the roll.

Link

Oops. It's a free action, not immediate action. To my knowledge, the only free action that is usable when it isn't your turn is "Speak".

1) Is this how others understand the ability?

2) Is this the intent of the ability?

Seems like only being able to get a boost to your saves on your turn really limits the usefulness. Wanted to double check that the nerf is by design.


FarmerBob wrote:

This came up last session. Bad guy casts a spell and I went to use the Order of the Warrior - Honor In All Things ability to boost the save.

Quote:
Whenever the samurai makes a skill check or saving throw, he can call upon his honor as a free action to grant him a +4 morale bonus on the roll.

Link

Oops. It's a free action, not immediate action. To my knowledge, the only free action that is usable when it isn't your turn is "Speak".

1) Is this how others understand the ability?

2) Is this the intent of the ability?

Seems like only being able to get a boost to your saves on your turn really limits the usefulness. Wanted to double check that the nerf is by design.

1) If you play by RAW and you're a stickler for rules, yes.

2) Dont know
2a) If you play by RAW and you're a stickler for rules, speak as a free action on another's turn and have your other free action be a rider to speaking.

Grand Lodge

Adding to the FAQ/errata list (Sigh)

Scarab Sages

No need for FAQ.

You can use Honor In All Things when you make a savingthrow. Doing so does not constitute an immediate action.

The normal rule says that the only action that is usable when it isn't your turn is speaking, but the ability grants an exception to the rule (like abilities do).

Liberty's Edge

Yep: making a save is not an action.

Grand Lodge

Clarification on Honor in All Things, I'm assuming that this has to be declared BEFORE the roll is made? Or can it be made after the roll but before the result is determined?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Samurai - Honor In All Things order ability only usable on your turn? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.