Clashing Rocks clarification


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What does the spell mean when it says the following?

"A creature can only take damage once from the clashing rocks, no matter how many times the clashing rocks pass over a target creature."

As an instantaneous effect that only moves in one direction, I don't see any possibility for the rocks to go over a creature more than once, and thus don't understand the purpose of the above line.

Also, can I choose the orientation of the rocks? For example, when using it against a flying creature, could I have the rocks appear above and below rather than side to side? Perhaps I could have both appear above the target smashing in and down (like a V-shaped trajectory)?

Can this spell be cast in doors or in other areas where there "isn't enough space?" If so, do the rocks appear inside the area and clash together, or outside the confines smashing inwards (warranting strength checks)? It says the appear UP TO 30 feet away from the target, does that mean I can have them appear much closer (such as when in confined/enclosed spaces)?

What happens to the area afterwards? It's a creation spell that creates TWO colossal masses and buries people with them, but it does not (technically) state that it leaves so much as leave difficult terrain afterwards, much less an impassible barrier.

I also don't understand the area (30x30x60). If I have the rocks appear 30 feet away from a Large target (for example), wouldn't it be 30x30x70?

Does the target of this spell HAVE to be a creature? Or can I flatten an empty building with the spell? (Note that there is not target line.)

I may add more questions as they come to me. Thank you for any insight you can provide.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Now that you've gone and opened your presents, can I get some help with this now?


Ravingdork wrote:

What does the spell mean when it says the following?

"A creature can only take damage once from the clashing rocks, no matter how many times the clashing rocks pass over a target creature."

As an instantaneous effect that only moves in one direction, I don't see any possibility for the rocks to go over a creature more than once, and thus don't understand the purpose of the above line.

Most likely for multi-square creatures.

Quote:
Also, can I choose the orientation of the rocks? For example, when using it against a flying creature, could I have the rocks appear above and below rather than side to side? Perhaps I could have both appear above the target smashing in and down (like a V-shaped trajectory)?

It doesn't give any restrictions on the orientation of the rocks, only that they be on opposite sides of the target.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Anyone else care to weigh in on this hard, heavy issue? ;P

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clashing Rocks clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions