Whips and cover


Rules Questions


Do you need to deal with cover as a whip user? The whip specifically states you can make attacks with a whip against anyone within the 15' range, does this negate the usual rules for reach and cover?


Lastoth wrote:
Do you need to deal with cover as a whip user? The whip specifically states you can make attacks with a whip against anyone within the 15' range, does this negate the usual rules for reach and cover?

When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has cover if any line from any corner of your square to the target's square goes through a wall (including a low wall).

When making a melee attack against a target that isn't adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

So if you are whipping something adjacent, use the first rules. If not, use the next ones.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Whips and cover All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions