Intelligent Item & Caster Levels


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

My character just had his gun possessed by an intelligent creature so now the gun is an intelligent item. It has the ability to cast 1st level spells 2nd level spell 1x a day. At what caster level is the spell?

Besides the core rule book is there any other material out their on intelligent items? Even 3rd party material.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Generally, the caster level of the spell from a magic item (intelligent or otherwise) is the same caster level of the item itself, unless otherwise specified.

Though since it sounds like you are describing a possessed item, rather than a true intelligent magic item, I'm not altogether certain that the above rule applies in this case.

If it turns out to be a possessing demon or some similar creature (with its own stats and caster level), you are likely supposed to use that instead.

Grand Lodge

A +1 gun would be caster level 3, which is also the level when a wizard or cleric first gains 2nd level spells.

First, though, ask your GM if he's defined its caster level and any other mechanics that apply.

Grand Lodge

No there isn't any standard rules because there are many reasons your item could be intelligent. It also might mean that you don't really have an intelligent magic item, just a haunted gun, so the caster level is whatever the spirit has.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intelligent Item & Caster Levels All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions