Natural attacks - multiple but not iterative?


Rules Questions


If a creature -- say a dragon -- has multiple attacks, can they all be used as part of a [single] standard action, before or after a move action?

Dragons are scary enough without allowing them to dive 400' and deal bite/claw/claw/(rend)/wing buffet/wing buffet/tail slap in passing.


Damon Griffin wrote:
If a creature -- say a dragon -- has multiple attacks, can they all be used as part of a [single] standard action, before or after a move action?

Multiple Attacks: A character who can make more than one attack per round must use the full-attack action (see Full-Round Actions) in order to get more than one attack.


Grick wrote:
Multiple Attacks: A character who can make more than one attack per round must use the full-attack action (see Full-Round Actions) in order to get more than one attack.

Good. So, no distinction intended between "character" [with iterative weapon attacks] and "creature" [with multiple limbs granting additional natural attacks.]

This is what we've been doing, but one of my players -- bit of a rules lawyer and generally well informed, though relatively new to Pathfinder -- was anxious at having read something he interpreted as treating an entire suite of natural attacks as a [single] attack action. We've found several times already that it doesn't pay to make assumptions about what PFRPG did and did not change from D&D 3.x, so --


Damon Griffin wrote:
Good. So, no distinction intended between "character" [with iterative weapon attacks] and "creature" [with multiple limbs granting additional natural attacks.]

Yep. Just look out for Pounce. Full attack on a charge, plus rake. Nasty.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Natural attacks - multiple but not iterative? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.