20th level monk goes from humanoid (whatever) to outsider-augmented humanoid (whatever), are they subject to enlarge person?


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

as the title

20th lvl monk goes from humanoid (whatever) to outsider-augmented humanoid (whatever), are they subject to enlarge person?

and while I'm at it, a 20th lvl monk with a robe, monks. anyone ever find hard rules for the damage type they'd be doing?

Going on their unarmed table and then size table I ruled 2d12 medium, 2d10 small, and 4d10 large. The player is trying to go with enlarge person and leadblades.


David Hopper wrote:
20th lvl monk goes from humanoid (whatever) to outsider-augmented humanoid (whatever), are they subject to enlarge person?

.

.

Perfect Self: At 20th level, a monk becomes a magical creature. He is forevermore treated as an outsider rather than as a humanoid (or whatever the monk's creature type was) for the purpose of spells and magical effects. Additionally, the monk gains damage reduction 10/chaotic, which allows him to ignore the first 10 points of damage from any attack made by a nonchaotic weapon or by any natural attack made by a creature that doesn't have similar damage reduction. Unlike other outsiders, the monk can still be brought back from the dead as if he were a member of his previous creature type.

Enlarge Person reads "Target one humanoid creature".

So the answer is, no, Enlarge Person can't target a 20th level Monk.


So, a monk doesn't actually become an outsider, he's just treated as an outsider?


Quantum Steve wrote:
So, a monk doesn't actually become an outsider, he's just treated as an outsider?

Sure, because an outsider is something from another plane. The monk doesn't gain some kind of time travel ability to change it's original birthplace. "Treated as an outsider rather than a humanoid" is, rules-wise, the same as saying "IS and outsider rather than a humanoid", but without implying time paradox.


Yeah, it makes them immune to enlarge person, but also hold person, ghoul touch, and anything else that targets humanoids.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 20th level monk goes from humanoid (whatever) to outsider-augmented humanoid (whatever), are they subject to enlarge person? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions