Spell: Command Undead Question


Rules Questions


Command Undead:
School necromancy; Level sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a shred of raw meat and a splinter of bone)
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Targets one undead creature
Duration 1 day/level
Saving Throw Will negates; see text; Spell Resistance yes

This spell allows you a degree of control over an undead creature. If the subject is intelligent, it perceives your words and actions favorably (treat its attitude as friendly). It will not attack you while the spell lasts. You can give the subject orders, but you must win an opposed Charisma check to convince it to do anything it wouldn't ordinarily do. Retries are not allowed. An intelligent commanded undead never obeys suicidal or obviously harmful orders, but it might be convinced that something very dangerous is worth doing.
A nonintelligent undead creature gets no saving throw against this spell. When you control a mindless being, you can communicate only basic commands, such as “come here,” “go there,” “fight,” “stand still,” and so on. Nonintelligent undead won't resist suicidal or obviously harmful orders.
Any act by you or your apparent allies that threatens the commanded undead (regardless of its Intelligence) breaks the spell.
Your commands are not telepathic. The undead creature must be able to hear you.

Am I missing something, or can I have multiple commanded undead until the day/level runs out?

We are in the first part of carrion crown. There seem to be several of these floaty-ghost-wielding-scythes things around. So far they all appear to be unitelligent, so no saving throw. So it seems like I should be able to get up to 3 of them fighting for me.


Quote:
This spell allows you a degree of control over an undead creature.

So nope. Also repeated from the target line:

Quote:
Targets one undead creature

Now you can have multiples of this spell up to command other undead, but each undead requires its own casting.


Abraham spalding wrote:
Quote:
This spell allows you a degree of control over an undead creature.

So nope. Also repeated from the target line:

Quote:
Targets one undead creature
Now you can have multiples of this spell up to command other undead, but each undead requires its own casting.

Sorry, I wasn't clear. I know it only affects 1 each casting and I would have to cast repatedly. But it seems like I could prepare 1 each day and have multiple undead working for me.


With command undead there is currently nothing to stop you from using multiple castings to control multiple undead.


Abraham spalding wrote:
With command undead there is currently nothing to stop you from using multiple castings to control multiple undead.

KOOL SWEETNESS ! ! !


I'm pretty sure you can prepare a lower level spell in a higher level slot. So, get to level 7 minimum. Prepare all slots 2+ with this spell. Go around and create your undead army. Have fun for a week. :D

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell: Command Undead Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions