Animal fury


Rules Questions

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does the rage power Animal fury count as a primary attack when using only natural attacks? It's for a PFS character so I'm looking for an official answer, if it exists.

I've checked the message boards about this but found nothing formal. I couldn't see anything in the faqs or errata either.


Sorry, no.
From the Bestiary 1, Natural Attacks:
Primary attacks are made using the creature's full base attack bonus and add the creature's full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature's base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature's Strength bonus on damage rolls.

Animal Fury:
While raging, the barbarian gains a bite attack. If used as part of a full attack action, the bite attack is made at the barbarian's full base attack bonus –5. If the bite hits, it deals 1d4 points of damage (assuming the barbarian is Medium; 1d3 points of damage if Small) plus half the barbarian's Strength modifier.

It should've been stated under Animal Fury that it is a secondary attack.


I believe the assumption there is that the full attack mentioned is a normal iterative one, that the bite is being used in addition to... the bite is still primary, but all primary weapons are 'downgraded' to secondary when added to iteratives. if you didn't use the iteratives, the bite would be used as a primary weapon, as it is when NOT full attacking (when you should apply full STR dmg). this is one i've been hoping they fix for a while... maybe next printing. we can FAQ it in the meantime. there's a couple other similar cases, which i can't remember off the top of my head.

Grand Lodge

Bites are primary unless called out as secondary, like a horse's hooves attack. If it is your only natural attack, you add 1.5x strength.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Quandary wrote:
I believe the assumption there is that the full attack mentioned is a normal iterative one, that the bite is being used in addition to... the bite is still primary, but all primary weapons are 'downgraded' to secondary when added to iteratives. if you didn't use the iteratives, the bite would be used as a primary weapon, as it is when NOT full attacking (when you should apply full STR dmg). this is one i've been hoping they fix for a while... maybe next printing. we can FAQ it in the meantime. there's a couple other similar cases, which i can't remember off the top of my head.

Exactly. Animal Fury is an example of an ability with 'reminder text', which describes how the ability works in the most common situation for most players in the ability description, so that they dont have to refer to the bestiary just to use their shiny barbarian ability.

None of that changes that its still a Bite attack, which is a primary natural attack.

This was clarified by some Dev, I just dont remember which one... at some point.

That said, Animal Fury DOES have additional rules for how it applies in a grapple, which is above and beyond a normal bite.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

It's those extra rules that cause the issue, nice though they are. If it does different damage and has different rules maybe it isn't a normal primary attack? I assume it is, but with PFS I could have 30 different GMs and need something reliable.

With the 1.5x strength as an only natural attack it makes for an interesting build though, especially if I don't focus on iterative attacks (Cleave etc). Not too hot with Vital Strike though, at d4...


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Stormfriend wrote:

It's those extra rules that cause the issue, nice though they are. If it does different damage and has different rules maybe it isn't a normal primary attack? I assume it is, but with PFS I could have 30 different GMs and need something reliable.

With the 1.5x strength as an only natural attack it makes for an interesting build though, especially if I don't focus on iterative attacks (Cleave etc). Not too hot with Vital Strike though, at d4...

Found the clarification.

http://paizo.com/paizo/messageboards/paizoPublishing/pathfinder/pathfinderR PG/rules/prehensileHairSkillUse&page=2#66

Its a bite first and foremost, and the text is there so players dont have to refer to the Bestiary.

Shadow Lodge

Yeah, there's even a stat block in the Gamemastery Guide where a barbarian cannibal is using it singularily as a primary natural attack and a full attack action where it is listed correctly as a secondary along with a weapon attack.


On a related note to this, does the bite from animal fury count as a primary or seconary natural attack when taking the free attack as part of the action to maintain or break free from a grapple?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Animal fury All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.