Dazed continuing flatfooted?


Rules Questions


Question has come up on two separate sessions and I couldn't find an answer in between them so came to ask here.

If I creature is dazed before they act in a given combat (my recurring problem is a high initiative Wizard with Ear-Piercing Scream) do they remain flat-footed once their initiative passes as they have not yet acted? Or does acting in terms of being flat footed or not merely mean "has had their initiative come up during this combat."

I've currently been ruling that the creature has had a turn and thus is no longer flat-footed and gains its AoOs and it hasn't slowed us down yet but would like to know the official RAW on the matter.

Silver Crusade

From the combat section: Flat-Footed: At the start of a battle, before you have had a chance to act (specifically, before your first regular turn in the initiative order), you are flat-footed.

So the thing that removes flat footedness is not actions but having the chance to act, i.e. your first initiative count in combat.


karkon wrote:

From the combat section: Flat-Footed: At the start of a battle, before you have had a chance to act (specifically, before your first regular turn in the initiative order), you are flat-footed.

So the thing that removes flat footedness is not actions but having the chance to act, i.e. your first initiative count in combat.

Cheers, guess we got hung up on the "Chance to act" meaning, has taken actions when dazed stops you taking actions. With that cleared up I can sort it out before next weeks game.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dazed continuing flatfooted? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions