Can you charge if you are blinded?


Rules Questions


We had a situation when i casted glitterdust on lion and he didnt save so he was blinded. He knew my last position and was around 30 feet away.

Can he charge me?

I didnt found any rules in CRB under blinded condition that you cant charge, but i think its a bit hard to do it, also since you cant really see where you are running.


From PRD:

Quote:
If you don't have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can't charge that opponent.

Blinded creature doesn't have line of sight to anything. So by RAW your opponent shouldn't be able to charge you. Unless it was creature that does not rely on line of sight (for example creature that is naturally blind and uses blindsight) or had some abilities that allowed overcoming that limitation.

Scarab Sages

I guess there would be at least a -4 penalty, but we see it in the movies all the time, the hero or villian gets a face full of sand, dust or whatever and thrashes about trying to hit their opponenet...plus a lion has a better sense of smell then a human(oid)

Dark Archive

and the PFSRD says...

Blinded

The creature cannot see. It takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class, loses its Dexterity bonus to AC (if any), and takes a –4 penalty on most Strength- and Dexterity-based skill checks and on opposed Perception skill checks. All checks and activities that rely on vision (such as reading and Perception checks based on sight) automatically fail. All opponents are considered to have total concealment (50% miss chance) against the blinded character. Blind creatures must make a DC 10 Acrobatics skill check to move faster than half speed. Creatures that fail this check fall prone. Characters who remain blinded for a long time grow accustomed to these drawbacks and can overcome some of them.

Dark Archive

Drejk is correct...

Charge

Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action. Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you can move.

Movement During a Charge

You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge. Helpless creatures don't stop a charge.

If you don't have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can't charge that opponent.

You can't take a 5-foot step in the same round as a charge.

If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed) and you cannot draw a weapon unless you possess the Quick Draw feat. You can't use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action on your turn.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Marko Zupan wrote:

We had a situation when i casted glitterdust on lion and he didnt save so he was blinded. He knew my last position and was around 30 feet away.

Can he charge me?

Charge? No, he doesn't have line of sight.

Run blindly at and probably fall on his face - while provoking tons of Attacks of Opportunity? Yes.

The Exchange

Of course, since a lion has scent, he can pinpoint you - but you'd get a 50% miss chance. As long as you keep on the move, he'd have to spend rounds A) pinpointing you and then B) moving adjacent.

Dark Archive

Lincoln Hills wrote:
Of course, since a lion has scent, he can pinpoint you - but you'd get a 50% miss chance. As long as you keep on the move, he'd have to spend rounds A) pinpointing you and then B) moving adjacent.

When a creature detects a scent, the exact location of the source is not revealed—only its presence somewhere within range. The creature can take a move action to note the direction of the scent.When the creature is within 5 feet of the source, it pinpoints the source’s location. Since you need 10ft. to charge i don't think the Lion could unless it has improved Scent.


Lincoln Hills wrote:
Of course, since a lion has scent, he can pinpoint you - but you'd get a 50% miss chance. As long as you keep on the move, he'd have to spend rounds A) pinpointing you and then B) moving adjacent.

It is a move action to detect the direction of a scent, and as WhipShire said, you don't pin-point until you get 5 feet away.

Silver Crusade

I would say no. If someone is blinded they cannot charge.

As you pointed out, it would be difficult to run with your eyes closed.


Even without the line of sight bit, it states nothing can hinder your movement, and I would say having to make acrobatics checks to stay on your feet is a hindrance, even if you make those checks (in the same way charging across the deck of a ship in a storm would be nigh impossible).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you charge if you are blinded? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions