Reliquaries and alignments


Rules Questions


Would a "altar, shrine, or other permanent fixture dedicated to your deity" (such that it works with the Consecrate spell, for instance), have a detectable alignment?

If one were to create a reliquary weapon using the Reliquary Arms & Armor feat... would it have the alignment of the deity or the cleric of said deity who made the item? (ie: a LG cleric of a LN god)

If you have a LN cleric of LE evil god... who wanted to add the Holy weapon special ability to his reliquary weapon? Would it be a reliquary weapon anymore?

Are there any rules that might cover this, or it an 'up to the gm' sorta thing?

Grand Lodge

As written detect evil, etc. only reveal an alignment for aligned magic items and then only at caster level 6 and above. I've always thought a holy/unholy symbol, altar, shrine or equivalent ritually dedicated object should have the alignment of its deity.

edit: Found the feat description. A LN cleric of a LE god cannot "add one casting of consecrate", as the spell has the [good] descriptor and his deity won't grant it to him. His god doesn't have holy symbols, so he can only create a reliquary weapon as an unholy symbol.

For the same reasons, he can't meet the prerequisites to craft a holy weapon. However, if he gets a cleric of a different god to help him (whose patron somehow agrees to it rather than making his friend an ex-cleric) I don't see a RAW reason that he can't have a holy weapon that is also an unholy symbol of his evil god and a dedicated fixture for a desecrate effect.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reliquaries and alignments All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions