Final Embrace feat line is really messed up!


Rules Questions


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Why does the Final Embrace feat line (from Ultimate Combat) have Ability Focus as a prequisite? That's an error, right? It's like having Weapon Specialization (net)--it's literally a feat that doesn't do anything!

Grand Lodge

Seems like it. Maybe Improved grapple should replace it?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Seems like it. Maybe Improved grapple should replace it?

Which would make just as much sense as the feats are designed for creatures who don't need improved grapple (and having to pay for improved unarmed strike first would actually make it worse).


I think, in the planning stages, the shaken effect that Final Embrace Horror granted had a DC. When it got removed, they forgot to remove Ability Focus as a pre-req.

Simple Solution: Remove Ability Focus as a Pre-Req.


I'm more bothered by two things one is that only like 2 archetypes could ever even take these feats one of which at like 15th level.

And the question of if a feat allows you to meet its prequisites and you lose the way you had it do you get to keep it?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Talonhawke wrote:

I'm more bothered by two things one is that only like 2 archetypes could ever even take these feats one of which at like 15th level.

And the question of if a feat allows you to meet its prequisites and you lose the way you had it do you get to keep it?

Actually, these feats are awesome for animal companions, eidolons, synthesists, and like, 2 archetypes in addition. :P

And to answer your question: Yes, you do keep the feat if you lose the prerequisites, you just can't use/benefit from it until you once again meet said prerequisites.


I mean that final embrace allows you to meet its prequisite of needing constrict by giving it to you.


Ugh. I just noticed this line in the description of Final Embrace:

Quote:
Normal: You can grab and constrict creatures one size smaller than you.

Apparently the author failed to read the description of Grab in Bestiary 2:

Quote:
Unless otherwise noted, grab works only against opponents no larger than the same size category as the creature.


UC is riddled with things like that look at Prone Shooter or the Titan Mauler.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
hogarth wrote:

Ugh. I just noticed this line in the description of Final Embrace:

Quote:
Normal: You can grab and constrict creatures one size smaller than you.

Apparently the author failed to read the description of Grab in Bestiary 2:

Quote:
Unless otherwise noted, grab works only against opponents no larger than the same size category as the creature.

Everything I've seen to date (both older and newer) contradicts that line in the Bestiary II so, as far as I can tell, it is what is in error.

EDIT: That, or I suppose it was RAI that Grab works like the old version, unless you are a monster from the Bestiary II, in which case it works like the new version.


Ravingdork wrote:
hogarth wrote:

Ugh. I just noticed this line in the description of Final Embrace:

Quote:
Normal: You can grab and constrict creatures one size smaller than you.

Apparently the author failed to read the description of Grab in Bestiary 2:

Quote:
Unless otherwise noted, grab works only against opponents no larger than the same size category as the creature.

Everything I've seen to date (both older and newer) contradicts that line in the Bestiary II so, as far as I can tell, it is what is in error.

EDIT: That, or I suppose it was RAI that Grab works like the old version, unless you are a monster from the Bestiary II, in which case it works like the new version.

According to Sean K Reynolds, that line in Bestiary 2 is an intentional (stealth) erratum. That's how Grab is supposed to work now; I guess not everyone got the memo...

Don't act so surprised -- you posted in the same thread!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
hogarth wrote:
Don't act so surprised -- you posted in the same thread!

I'm as notorious for my poor memory as I am for my "bad GMs" and "munchkin ideas."

Well, maybe not AS much, since you obviously didn't get the memo. ;P

And yes, many new development teams obviously weren't aware of the stealth errata. That's why the whole thing is stupid to begin with. They should have used PROPER errata, not stealth errata. The former (ideally) fixes things, the latter only adds confusion.


Quote:
the stealth errata

Off topic: which one are you referring to/where can I find it?


Astral Wanderer wrote:
Quote:
the stealth errata
Off topic: which one are you referring to/where can I find it?

In brief:

  • In the Bestiary, the Grab ability says it only works on creatures at least one size smaller than you.
  • In the Bestiary 2, the Grab ability says it works on creatures your size or smaller. Sean K Reynolds confirms that this is a deliberate change. That's what we're referring to as a "stealth erratum" (i.e. a rules change that doesn't actually show up in an errata document).
  • In Ultimate Combat, the Final Embrace feat says that Grab works as per the original Bestiary, not as per Bestiary 2. Whether that's a typo or another "stealth erratum" -- who knows?


  • Oh, sorry, I totally misread, I thought you were referring to an errata about the Stealth skill.

    Back on topic, given the amount of errors in Final Embrace I'd say that is just another one (and as such, Bestiary II rules would be the correct ones).
    Anyway, if I'm not misreading anything else, in the Bestiary Errata 2.0 there is an errata that makes rules peer to those of Bestiary 2:

    Page 301—In the Grab section, in the f irst paragraph, delete the second sentence, which reads “Unless otherwise noted, grab works only against
    opponents at least one size category smaller than the creature.” After the second paragraph, add the following paragraph:
    Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability. If the creature can use grab on creatures of other sizes, it is noted in the creature’s Special Attacks line.


    Astral Wanderer wrote:

    Anyway, if I'm not misreading anything else, in the Bestiary Errata 2.0 there is an errata that makes rules peer to those of Bestiary 2:

    Page 301—In the Grab section, in the f irst paragraph, delete the second sentence, which reads “Unless otherwise noted, grab works only against
    opponents at least one size category smaller than the creature.” After the second paragraph, add the following paragraph:
    Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability. If the creature can use grab on creatures of other sizes, it is noted in the creature’s Special Attacks line.

    Oho! I guess it's less stealthy than I thought! :-)


    One wonders if the Grab evolution for eidolons is/was supposed to get errataed as well... as their's is size smaller too.


    EvilMinion wrote:
    One wonders if the Grab evolution for eidolons is/was supposed to get errataed as well... as their's is size smaller too.

    99% yes.

    Also, the text says: "an eidolon gains the grab ability"; what follows is a copy of what was in the Bestiary 1 that was added there just to let a player know what the grab ability does without needing to look for it in the Bestiary, I really don't think it was put there with the intention of meaning: "for the eidolon, it works like this. No exceptions". Besides, Bestiary 2 and the Errata 2.0 for Bestiary 1 came after the Advanced Player's Guide.

    Silver Crusade

    I am necroing this thread, it looks like nothing in FAQ has addressed this feat line.

    Can we please get a ruling since

    1. The original feat is mitigated by the new grab updated in Bestiary 2.

    2. Final Embrace Horror needs ability focus as a pre req but that makes no sense.

    Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Final Embrace feat line is really messed up! All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.
    Recent threads in Rules Questions