Can you trap a magma elemental in a tanglefoot bag?


Rules Questions


One of my players just attempted this, and I'm inclined to say no for two reasons:

1. Burn - The magma elemental is made of molten rock and all of the goo would burn away.

2. Earth glide - Even if the goo didn't burn, the elemental wouldn't be trapped, it can meld with the earth and burrow at its full speed, regardless of whether its feet are stuck in goo.

What say you, oh mighty rules lawyers?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
DM aLittleTooQuiet wrote:

One of my players just attempted this, and I'm inclined to say no for two reasons:

1. Burn - The magma elemental is made of molten rock and all of the goo would burn away.

2. Earth glide - Even if the goo didn't burn, the elemental wouldn't be trapped, it can meld with the earth and burrow at its full speed, regardless of whether its feet are stuck in goo.

What say you, oh mighty rules lawyers?

I might give it a +2 circumstance bonus to its save or check to escape, but complete immunity?

No real reason for that that I see.


DM aLittleTooQuiet wrote:

One of my players just attempted this, and I'm inclined to say no for two reasons:

1. Burn - The magma elemental is made of molten rock and all of the goo would burn away.

2. Earth glide - Even if the goo didn't burn, the elemental wouldn't be trapped, it can meld with the earth and burrow at its full speed, regardless of whether its feet are stuck in goo.

What say you, oh mighty rules lawyers?

RAW, the magma elemental has no immunity.

I, however, would probably rule it gets burned away. Another option would be to have the magma elemental deal burn damage to the tanglefoot bag every round (a tanglefoot bag has 15 hp; although RAW only slicing damage can affect it).


It's a game have fun think of a cool way you can justify following the RAW and let the tanglefoot bag work as intended. I hear this kind of stuff all the time in 4E where you can trip oozes and other things that sometimes don't make sense but are in the rules.

Monk's don't take damage every time they punch the elemental. You don't take damage if you grapple the elemental, and this is basically what the tanglefoot bag is doing.

As far as burrow it is a form of movement and limited by the tanglefoot bag just like walking, swimming, or flying would.


Yeah, I'll probably have to go with RAW in this case, though if it was a table top game I'd probably rule it was burned away.


DM aLittleTooQuiet wrote:
Yeah, I'll probably have to go with RAW in this case, though if it was a table top game I'd probably rule it was burned away.

At MYYYYYY table (haha) I tend to tweak RAW to simulate my conception of reality and impose what I think would be realistic.

Think about the physics along with RAW. I don't think a tangle foot bag would hinder a molten chunk of rock. Can you think of any glue that would bond molten surfaces? I cant, and I spec out various crazy strong adhesives as part of my line of work.

Even super awesome "magic" glue would have (it seems to me) to interact with the mundane aspects of chemical bonding at some point. In the interest of not upsetting Rules Lawyer type players, I might let the bag hold the creature for a round before the awful stench of the burning glue filled the area.

You could even impose a obs. mist type effect, with or without a mild poison effect. Maybe the burning smoke even grants a boon - a rage effect or a competence bonus. But that's just me, and probably dates me back to my 1st ed roots where DMing was more improvisational. Some players really like unpredictable magic outcomes, and off the cuff bits of situational flare, while others want a cut and dry rules system. Bottom line is make it fun for you and your group and you are golden.


Paraxis wrote:


Monk's don't take damage every time they punch the elemental. You don't take damage if you grapple the elemental, and this is basically what the tanglefoot bag is doing.

I believe you are wrong here?

Burn(ex)
Creatures that hit the monster with natural weapons or unarmed attacks take fire damage as though hit by the monster’s burn attack and must make a Reflex save to avoid catching on fire.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you trap a magma elemental in a tanglefoot bag? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions