| OberonViking |
With a ranged weapon, you can take advantage of any opening in your opponent’s defenses.
Prerequisite: Dex 13, Point-Blank Shot, Rapid Shot, Weapon Focus, base attack bonus +6.
Benefit: While wielding a ranged weapon with which you have Weapon Focus, you threaten squares within 5 feet of you. You can make attacks of opportunity with that ranged weapon. You do not provoke attacks of opportunity when making a ranged attack as an attack of opportunity.
Normal: While wielding a ranged weapon, you threaten no squares and can make no attacks of opportunity with that weapon.
I get the feeling that this means that shooting a bow whilst in melee no longer provokes an AoO, but it doesn't say it outright. It does say that making an AoO attack with the bow does not provoke.
Does the Snap Shot feat mean that you can shoot whilst being threatened without provoking an AoO?
Has this been FAQed already?
| HaraldKlak |
** spoiler omitted **
I get the feeling that this means that shooting a bow whilst in melee no longer provokes an AoO, but it doesn't say it outright. It does say that making an AoO attack with the bow does not provoke.
Does the Snap Shot feat mean that you can shoot whilst being threatened without provoking an AoO?
Has this been FAQed already?
The benefit I can see in the text is:
A) You get to threaten within 5 ft and make AOOs with your bow.
B) AOOs made this way doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity from others.
The text mention a specific situation, so it doesn't suggest that it applies in other circumstances.
| OberonViking |
The benefit I can see in the text is:
A) You get to threaten within 5 ft and make AOOs with your bow.
B) AOOs made this way doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity from others.The text mention a specific situation, so it doesn't suggest that it applies in other circumstances.
I guess it mentions B) because your ranged attacks still provoke an AoO. It would be quite a surprise to find that the archer you just charged does threaten and does hit you with an AoO when you try to move on to the next opponent.
It also prevents the situation where the opponent's action which provokes an AoO, and then my reactive AoO which then provokes an AoO. Does my head in, that does.
I'm still planing to take the feat. Improved Snap Shot makes it worthwhile. Maybe I will skirt around combat and shoot the enemy in the back whilst standing next to the caster. He won't think that I can AoO him when he casts a spell - mwhahahahahaa!
| HaraldKlak |
I'm still planing to take the feat. Improved Snap Shot makes it worthwhile. Maybe I will skirt around combat and shoot the enemy in the back whilst standing next to the caster. He won't think that I can AoO him when he casts a spell - mwhahahahahaa!
While it might not be worth the feats, and a GM might disallow it, I think it would be fun to combine with combat patrol. Suddenly you start making AOOs against anybody who moves the the battlefield.
| OberonViking |
OberonViking wrote:While it might not be worth the feats, and a GM might disallow it, I think it would be fun to combine with combat patrol. Suddenly you start making AOOs against anybody who moves the the battlefield.
I'm still planing to take the feat. Improved Snap Shot makes it worthwhile. Maybe I will skirt around combat and shoot the enemy in the back whilst standing next to the caster. He won't think that I can AoO him when he casts a spell - mwhahahahahaa!
That sounds like great synergy. I was thinking to take Combat Reflexes anyway. Adding Dodge and Mobility were also on the cards. Thanks.
| Gilfalas |
It also prevents the situation where the opponent's action which provokes an AoO, and then my reactive AoO which then provokes an AoO. Does my head in, that does.
I beleive that AoO's cannot themselves cause AoO's. Wish I was at my book, so I am not 100% on that, but there you are.
| Grick |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
OberonViking wrote:It also prevents the situation where the opponent's action which provokes an AoO, and then my reactive AoO which then provokes an AoO. Does my head in, that does.I beleive that AoO's cannot themselves cause AoO's. Wish I was at my book, so I am not 100% on that, but there you are.
Sure it can.
Drunken Guy runs up and takes a swing at me, provoking an AoO.
I make an AoO, and in place of the attack try to Trip him, provoking an AoO.
He makes an AoO and tries to punch me, provoking an AoO.
I keep trying to trip.
Say I have combat reflexes and dex 12, and he doesn't:
A) His Original punch
B) Me Trip (my 1st aoo)
C) Him punch again (his 1st aoo)
D) Me Trip (my 2nd aoo)
To Resolve:
1st - D: My 2nd trip. If it works, he's prone, we stop. If I miss, then
2nd - C: his 2nd punch. If I'm knocked out, we stop. If I'm conscious, then
3rd - B: My 1st trip. If it works, he's prone, we stop. If I miss, then
4th - A: His original punch.
5th - We get a beer.
| AerynTahlro |
OberonViking wrote:It also prevents the situation where the opponent's action which provokes an AoO, and then my reactive AoO which then provokes an AoO. Does my head in, that does.I beleive that AoO's cannot themselves cause AoO's. Wish I was at my book, so I am not 100% on that, but there you are.
I could've sworn that this was the case as well, but nowhere in the GM section on Combat does it state that an AoO cannot provoke another AoO.
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
To Resolve:
1st - D: My 2nd trip. If it works, he's prone, we stop. If I miss, then
2nd - C: his 2nd punch. If I'm knocked out, we stop. If I'm conscious, then
3rd - B: My 1st trip. If it works, he's prone, we stop. If I miss, then
4th - A: His original punch.
5th - We get a beer.
Why would the chain stop if he goes prone?
| Abraham spalding |
Grick wrote:Why would the chain stop if he goes prone?To Resolve:
1st - D: My 2nd trip. If it works, he's prone, we stop. If I miss, then
2nd - C: his 2nd punch. If I'm knocked out, we stop. If I'm conscious, then
3rd - B: My 1st trip. If it works, he's prone, we stop. If I miss, then
4th - A: His original punch.
5th - We get a beer.
Time travel.
| AerynTahlro |
Grick wrote:Why would the chain stop if he goes prone?To Resolve:
1st - D: My 2nd trip. If it works, he's prone, we stop. If I miss, then
2nd - C: his 2nd punch. If I'm knocked out, we stop. If I'm conscious, then
3rd - B: My 1st trip. If it works, he's prone, we stop. If I miss, then
4th - A: His original punch.
5th - We get a beer.
It would actually stop much sooner.
If you're unarmed, you don't normally threaten any squares and thus can't make attacks of opportunity.
A NPC/PC without Improved Unarmed Strike does not threaten squares around him and thus could not take the AoO for a failed trip.
On the other side of the coin, a NPC/PC with Improved Unarmed Strike is considered armed for Unarmed Strikes and does not provoke AoO's when performing an unarmed attack.EDIT: This is assuming that you weren't implying that the AoO's were all being caused by rolling a natural 1.
| Abraham spalding |
Could you elaborate?
EDIT: And for that matter, the chain doesn't even exist as stated. If the guy doesn't have IUS, then he can't take an AoO while unarmed. But if he does have IUS, then he doesn't provoke an AoO for attacking unarmed.
Sure but I'm going to alter the scenario to 'make it work' with the rules.
Instead of unarmed strikes bob is going to try and trip Tim without improved trip.
Bob provokes -- Tim thinks this tripping thing is a great idea so he goes to trip Bob -- again without the feat.
Which means he provokes so Bob gets to trip Tim for his AoO -- and provokes but he thought he didn't mind -- after all Tim only has 1 AoO right? Wrong! HAHAHA combat reflexes! So Tim gets to AoO and decides he is still going for this trip thing.
So Tim goes to trip bob and succeeds.
Now here's the thing -- Tim can't take his first trip attempt -- Bob's already down. As such Tim didn't provoke for it since he couldn't have possibly taken it since Bob is already tripped.
Fortunately for Bob he still gets his trip attempt against Tim since it was his original action that provoked from Tim in the first place and Tim is still not tripped.
| Gilfalas |
Gilfalas wrote:I could've sworn that this was the case as well, but nowhere in the GM section on Combat does it state that an AoO cannot provoke another AoO.OberonViking wrote:It also prevents the situation where the opponent's action which provokes an AoO, and then my reactive AoO which then provokes an AoO. Does my head in, that does.I beleive that AoO's cannot themselves cause AoO's. Wish I was at my book, so I am not 100% on that, but there you are.
Thanks for checking. Possibly another foggy remembrance of previous versions or house rules on my part. At least there is the one AoO a round limit (not counting Combat Reflexes) which can keep it to a minimum.