Ceefood
|
I did a search for this question but did not find anything so I am posting here
I have a cleric with the Deception subdomain (pg89 of APG) which allows for instant 10' teleport (immediate action) after a missed melee attack within reach of the attacker who missed.
some background -
we as a group roll for initiative for each player (animal companions go on the players turn no separate initiative) & once for each type of monster eg. if we faced all zombies they get one roll or if we faced a mix of zombies & skeletons then zombies get a roll & skellies get a roll & everyone goes in their initiative order
if players roll the same initiative then the one with higher Dex goes first
setup -
we were in a garden & my character was flanked by two enemies of the same type & I was getting low on hps - When I was out of the room for a minute the two monsters flanking me attacked - one missed & the other hit - when I came back I was told what happened
I stated that since one missed I used my ability to teleport to the otherside of the attacker that missed taking me out of flanking & forcing the other attacker to move to attack me or lose the attack
The DM ruled that they both attacked simultaneously so my ability could not be used or would only work after they both attacked meaning the attack hit - the damage then rendering me unconcious - I argued that they take their turns like players do although all same type monsters go before next monster type or player goes - usually it does not matter. The DM overruled me & we kept playing
was I right & I should have been allowed to use my ability or was the DM right - an official ruling would be nice but concensus would also be helpful to present to the DM especially as this is PFS play but the rule is necessary for normal campaigns as well
if this is not clear enough or anyone has questions please ask & I will try to explain better
thanks all
Cee
| Midnight_Angel |
If the GM groups the opponents at the same Initiative, I'd make your ability dependent on the order the attacks were rolled in.
If A attacks before B, and A misses, you can teleport out after A's attack.
If A attacks before B, A hits, then B misses, you can teleport out after B's attack, still having taken damage from A, of course.